The Resistance (Perfect Humans, Part 2)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

Read Part 1 here

What can you do to resist a world where your social status is based on the perfection of your genes? On the money, your parents invested to make you beautiful, healthy and intelligent? A world that has told you from the day you were born, that you’re a lesser human for having a random combination of your parent’s genetic material?

Well, at first, you need to find others like you. They not only have to share your genetic imperfection but they also need to be willing to rebel against the current circumstances. In human history, a rebellion always started with a few people willing to risk their lives. As soon as there are enough of them, the revolution can’t be avoided anymore.

But until this critical mass of supporters is reached, the resistance is banished to the shadows.

In this case, a slightly wet basement with bad lightning. At a wooden table sat about twenty people, including me. I’ve been told that there are several more members, but some of them are in prison. Some dead. Not officially, but when people vanish and you never hear of them again, there are certain expectations.

We’re using false names to protect each other. Even if we’re caught and tortured, there is no way we can give up the other’s identity. I’m called Hel around here, the Norse goddess who rules over the underworld. A bit over the top, I know, but it’s as far away from my real name as possible.

Alexander is the one keeping us all together. He’s a tertiary, although not visibly. Not yet. He has Huntington disease, a progressive brain disorder that will break out during his 30’s or 40’s. There is no cure for it and anyone who has the defect, an abnormal number of repetitions of the DNA base triplet CAG, is doomed to develop the disease later in life.

His parents had been secondaries with not enough money to edit their only child’s genes. Alexander was one of the rare occurrences when healthy parents produced a child with Huntington disease.

And now, at the age of 28, he’s the leader of the resistance. He’s who brought me in.

”I have an announcement”, Alexander says. ”I’m afraid that I soon won’t be able to lead you all anymore. The time has come.”

He doesn’t need to explain, we all understand perfectly. The disease had shown its first signs.

”I want one of you to be my successor. I’ve thought very long about this and decided that Hel will follow my footsteps.” An audible gasp goes around the table. I stare at him. Is he serious?

”You’re probably confused by that, because Hel has only been here for a month”, he continues. ”But it’s not the time someone has been here that’s important. It’s the commitment to the cause, the determination to carry out tasks and the compassion towards those who need us that makes a good leader. And I think you all agree when I say that Hel has shown the potential to be a great leader.”

To my surprise, many of the present members nod or mumble their agreement. But that doesn’t seem to satisfy Alexander.

”Do you remember the attack at the hospital? How we freed those poor kids before they could be sterilized? Hel almost got shot when she carried that girl outside. And then she went back to collect the last one. Everyone else, including me, ran.”

”Well, I couldn’t just leave that boy all alone in there”, I say and blush slightly. I don’t like all this attention. Even after a month, I’m still not used to people other than my parents actually acknowledging my achievements. It feels kind of good.

”Everyone but you abandoned that kid”, Alexander interjected. ”You’ve shown that you care a lot about the people we are trying to save. And it’s not like I’m leaving tomorrow, I’ll be probably able to lead you guys a few more years. But it’s important that you start getting more involved in the radical actions we take.”

”Dragging children out of a hospital guarded by armed police is not radical?” I ask surprised. Alexander shakes his head.

”No. There is something I’ve been planning for some time now and I’ll need your help to pull it off.”

”What is it?”

”We’re going to steal some embryos.”


Sources:

Hel

Huntington Disease


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
Check out @steemstem and the #steemSTEM channel in steemit.chat and consider following the curation trail on Streemian to support scientists on steemit!
Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Your way of writing is simply awesome and the stories you're coming up with are just really great to read through. Will be curious for the next part of the story and what's the plan on the embryos.

I honestly missed the fact the last story was Part 1 of a series. I enjoyed it and now I was really surprised "Wow the story goes on!" - especially since this is an important topic and it's currently on topic. I've read some articles in Finnish of the subject and almost everybody has really mixed feelings about this.

The point is though, it's more important to discuss everything before they happen. If we'll wake up in a messed up society, it'll be too late to talk if it'll be a problem.

True. We all have to make sure right now that it doesn't get as messed up as it's in the story.

Idealism is the absolute resistance in man.
This story is very memorable to me.
For the next I suggest a scientific topic about astronomy may you write it for us. Thank you @suesa

One way that can compete in social media is to lie.
The reason, because if honest, they will be expelled.
They are basically imperfect, they are the result of a combination of embryos.
Thank you @suesa

This is really good, I love me a dystopian science based fiction. Keep 'em coming! Upvoted & resteemed. <3

Man holds great power buried beneath in the essence of the soul. The power of freedom.

Society has just made its own prison.

Have a look at my blog you might find something interesting ^^

And thanks for the amazing read

A rebellion happens when a group of people want to change the current situation for a different one. But, its not exactly about just risking their lives, living is a biological condition that can be quite quickly altered. I would like to think its about something that defines all of us. Its about believing in a vision (call it a fantasy if you like, the narrative doesnt change) and consciously rejecting your biological insticts for survival. Its when you start defying your very own nature and for the sake of something you consider worth fighting for may end up giving your own life. When you are able to realize that, its the moment you start feeling very much alive with whatever that might mean to anyone of us.

History is written by the victor. History is filled with liars

Captain Price

Great post by the way, looking forward to read part 1 haha :)

This is an interesting post,Beautiful That Is Interesting In The Eyes, It's Good That Is Attractive In The Heart. To appeal to people sometimes people spend tens of millions of money to make it look interesting. Some do plastic surgery, but who are very disappointed when marrying and the child is born in accordance with his mother.

This make me recall a friend who was diagnosed with Marfan syndrome. Its also a genetic disorder with connective tissue, so he always stay thin and everyone is jelous with him XD

integrity is all a human need to show...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61986.23
ETH 3026.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75