Gravity (Stranded, Part 2)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture
Courtesy of @m31 check out and upvote her post containing this picture

Read Part 1

It was a crash landing; this tiny ship wasn’t built to land on a planet. It was built to orbit one. But I should be happy it’s sturdy enough to have protected my journey to the surface. Now, I have to face a whole different set of issues.

I can’t move.

It’s not like anything is broken or I’m hurt, at least not badly. No, the force of gravity is dragging me down so much that I just. Can’t. Move.

”Help”, I wheeze.

”Assistance protocols are offline. The main computer has been damaged. Please contact your designated technician.”

That’s the voice of the ship’s computer. I must have triggered the voice activation. Not very helpful.

Using my muscles to the fullest, I slowly crawl out of the iron ball I spent almost two weeks in. My wings are pushed to the ground and dragged through the dirt. Tiny stones, sharp as a razor, dig into them. Why doesn’t this damn spacesuit have wing protection?

Breathing is difficult, even though the suit and helmet prevent me from taking in the dangerous oxygen that surrounds me. Or maybe breathing isn’t difficult, maybe my body is just reacting to the fact that my heart suddenly has to beat a lot stronger to move all my blood …

Outside of my ship, I fall flat on the ground. My muscles, my bones, I’m not adapted to this kind of strong gravity. My body feels heavier than it has ever been.

I had been aware that the gravity on this planet is higher than on my home planet but … that high? No wonder the intelligent natives didn’t develop flight first! It would require so much energy to fight against this gravity and rise into the sky.

It’s only my imagination but I can almost feel my metabolism accelerate as my muscles react to the strain put on them. Depending on how much time I spend on this planet, I might die a lot sooner than I would have at home. Hypergravity over longer periods of time is not healthy. It changes your whole body, down to a cellular level.

My thoughts are racing. I need to move. I need to find shelter. I need to protect myself from the humans.

I need to find a place where I can breathe.

I stretch out my arm as fast as I can and dig my fingers into the soft ground to then drag me forward. Only a few centimeters, but I moved. I stretch out my other arm and repeat it. Bit by bit, I’m able to put some distance between my ship and me.

Two giant black boots suddenly appear in front of my face. I let out a startled squeak and look up.

A human. Male.

”What the actual fuck are you supposed to be”, he says and the translation device in my suit converts it into my own language as he speaks. I’m too much in shock to respond. He squats down next to me.

”I’ve seen your vehicle enter our atmosphere”, he says. ”Been watching you for quite a while. New, fast-moving star in the sky, looked at you the whole week with my telescope. Was surprised nobody else noticed you.”

A telescope? Humans still use such primitive technology? That’s really bad news. Our cloaking mechanisms don’t shield us from that.

The human doesn’t move, he just looks me up and down with his two weird eyes.

”So, are there more of you coming?” He wants to know.

”No”, I manage to reply. ”I’m alone.”

Hearing my voice through the filter of the translator makes his face brighten up.

”You can talk!”, he calls out. ”Well isn’t that nice. I was afraid we wouldn’t be able to communicate at all. You’re alone you say? You’re lost? You need help?”

Can I trust this human? I doubt it. Do I have another choice? No.

”Yes, I do need help”, I say. ”I can’t breathe your air and your gravity is too strong for me.”

”What do you breathe then?” He asks. I tell him which makes him grin. ”That won’t be a problem. We just need to put you in an airtight place. Give me your hand, I’ll pick you up and take you home.”

Home …

I lift up my hand and he grabs it, pulling me to my feet. The sudden movement combined with the unusually strong pull of gravity is too much for my body. My blood rushes from my head to my feed and I faint.
@suesa


References:

The Hormetic Effects of Hypergravity on Longevity and Aging

The Impact of Microgravity and Hypergravity on Endothelial Cells

Gravity Hurts (so Good)

The Pull of Hypergravity


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

I like the way you present science through enjoyable stories. I hope there is apart 3 because I want to know if the human is a nice one, mean one, or deluded one.

Fear not! There are a total of 7 parts!

Good, seems like a good story start.

Is that creature (first picture) kinda a bat?

It's an alien ;)

Is this like a safe knockoff ofJohn Carter but in reverse?

Idk what John Carter is so probably no :P

Well, the idea of the alien getting weaker due to gravity is a good change of pace. I'm sick of aliens getting stronger here just 'cause they are foreigners #dragonball #superman

@ertweo : check out "war of the world". It was nice concept but poorly executed.

Had first to got back to part one to understand where part two takes me. You make science so enjoyable or easier to digest. Waiting for part three to see what the human is made of. Hats off queen of science :)

Gravity is one of the four fundamental forces in the universe. What we call the fundamental style is the interaction between matter that we can no longer derive into something more fundamental. Frictional forces, for example, are not fundamental forces because they arise from interactions between atoms and molecules on both surfaces rubbing together.

The force of gravity is generated from the mass of an object, and always attracts another object which also has mass. The magnitude of this force is directly proportional to the mass of the two objects, and inversely proportional to the square of the distance of the two objects.

Not me who made that post, it belongs to @suesa. I just commented.

informational and important article about gravitation, nice addition for science students, thanks for sharing such educational stuffs..UPVOTE

It's always funny to see who only reads the heading and not the actual post before commenting..

many of them do not know what is in writing. but they want to appear, want to see. but they do not know about the contents of the article.

i am new member of steemit. please give me some advice to earn more.

The smaller the planets are, they are, other things being equal, of so much the greater density; for so the powers of gravity on their several surfaces come nearer to equality. They are likewise, other things being equal, of the greater density, as they are nearer to the sun.
Isaac Newton

Lovely prose work.

Hi @suesa what a fiction story combined with science this is indeed is amazing,perhaps there is no gravity in the outer space according to your fiction and the gravity on planet earth which is our home is stronger hence the reason if you throw a stone up in the air it will still come back to the ground but it's amazing how a rocket shuttle travels all the way to the moon or space and also how a plane fly up in the sky and maintain its posture in the air,lastly the world of science it's mysterious and it is not easy to understand it just simply like that,henceforth i will be looking forward to see more of this fictional science on Gravity story,thank you @suesa for your post and keep up the good work you are doing on Steemit.

Great post @suesa thanks so much...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63