Fading away

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

”Ugh, Mom! I told you that only two weeks ago already. Why do you always have to ask me the same things over and over again? You haven’t been like this when I was a child!”

”I’m sorry, Julian. It’s not on purpose, I promise. Everything just seems to slip away lately. I’m not sleeping well either.”

”Then maybe you should stop drinking so much coffee when meeting up with your knitting club”, Julian scoffed. ”Seriously, mom, you need to take more care of yourself. What would dad say, when he’d be still alive? Probably something along the lines of ’You need to sleep more, Rose.’.”

”I’m not drinking any coffee anymore!”, Rose protested. ”I just can’t seem to keep a normal sleep schedule. I constantly wake up at night and fall asleep during the day.”

”Sure, mom. I have to leave now, see you next week at the same time?”

Rose sighed but nodded and hugged her son goodbye. As she watched him walk down the driveway, she couldn’t shake the feeling of disappointment. Her son didn’t believe her, just filed her problems under old people problems. But Rose knew something wasn’t right. Her mind felt like a swiss cheese, filled with holes.

Maybe she should have told Julian that the irregular sleeping rhythm wasn’t the only problem. Sometimes, she woke up and was standing in the middle of the road, disoriented and afraid, only wearing her pajamas.

Something was off and Rose was afraid to know what exactly. She had always avoided seeing doctors as long as she could. Sometimes, that had led to some rather dangerous health issues, but in the end, it had always worked out.

For some reason, Rose felt like this time, she wouldn’t get off the hook so easily. For several minutes, she stared at the telephone that was laying on the desk. It was one of those smart phones, Julia had gotten it for her. Rose wasn’t very comfortable using most of the functions, but it was enough to call the doctor.

With a heavy heart, she grabbed the phone and dialed her doctor’s number.


”The MRT does not look good, I am sorry. It looks like you have got Alzheimer’s disease. And it’s already in a very progressed state.”

Rose closed her eyes for a few moments and reminded herself to take deep breaths. Yes, this was the diagnosis she had feared but expected. Alzheimer’s.

”Are you alright?”, the Doctor asked.

”Yes, yes, I’m sorry”, Rose answered. ”I kind of expected this result. It happened to my mother too, when she was a certain age. And I noticed the same symptoms she had, happening to me.”

The pitiful look on the doctor’s face made her want to vomit. This is not what she wanted. She didn’t want people to pity her. The disease didn’t eradicate the human she had been before. At least that’s what she wanted to believe. She knew that it wasn’t the truth. More and more, her mind would fade and that’s how people would remember her. The thought hurt.

”We have certain medication that can slow down the process a little bit, but I’m afraid we can’t completely cure you”, the Doctor continued. ”Alzheimer’s disease is characterized by misfolded proteins that accumulate in the brain and we haven’t yet found a way to get rid of those. It’s said that aerobic exercise can help to preserve brain functions, so I’d recommend those in addition to the medication.”

”Thank you, Doctor”, Rose said. She didn’t really mean it.


”Please mom, eat at least something! You’re already so thin.”

”I’m feeling extremely nauseous Robert, I’m afraid eating won’t be possible.”

”Robert?!” Robert seemed shocked, but Rose didn’t understand why.

”Mom, it’s me, Julian! Dad has been dead for five years now.”

”Dead? What are you talking about, you’re sitting right in front of me! And who is Julian? I like that name, I think I want to name our first son Julian. What do you think, Robert?”

Robert stood up, visibly distressed.

”I’ll be right back”, he said.

”You’re behaving strangely”, Rose told him. She couldn’t understand why Robert was acting this way. She could see him on the phone, calling someone. When did phones get so small? He ended the call and came back to the kitchen.

”I’m sorry mom. I just called the retirement home. They’re prepared to finally take you in. I’m afraid your sickness has advanced too far. I can’t deal with this anymore.”



Sources:

A systematic review of biomarkers for disease progression in Alzheimer's disease

Neuroinflammation in Alzheimer's disease

The sleep-wake cycle and Alzheimer's disease: what do we know?

Genetic determinants of disease progression in Alzheimer's disease

Medications for Memory Loss


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
Check out @steemstem and the #steemSTEM channel in steemit.chat and consider following the curation trail on Streemian to support scientists on steemit!
Picture taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

Ouch. This was painful to read. My mother-in-law struggles with Alzheimer's. They live quite far away from us, so we only see my parents-in-law about four times per year, but when they visit they stay for three weeks. During that time, at first I am patient and loving. Later on I become irritated with my mom's continuous irrational behavior, her lack of memory. But always my compassion is there. I recently asked my dad how he put up with it. He cried, saying that he hates losing his wife, because she is just not there anymore. But, he said, he married her for better or for worse, and he will love her forever and he will look after her with that love. And I wish I could actually convey the respect and love that he shows her in every little thing. She does not know how to appreciate it anymore. She does not even recognize him most of the time. But I believe somewhere, right in the core of her, she still feels his love, and that it sustains her in her dark hours of fear and confusion.

Your father in law is incredibly strong.
And I know what you mean with the "first being loving, then getting irritated despite still loving them". A family member of mine has Parkinson disease and it's started to gnaw away her mental abilities too. It's painful to be around loved ones that are like this and it's easy to feel guilty.

good images

The story is very interesting and sad, reading the story makes me always remember your writing, success always

It may be little comfort, but at least none of them became a zombie. Alzheimer's is awful, but.

Are you missing my apocalypse stories?

I was thinking the post was gonna be about sleep and was gonna say, after i join steemit, my life is exactly like she is facing lol.....

Alzheimer is really a big challenge on how much your families could endure before they collapse....

It is really interesting for to have something like protein, which have a meta-stable structures. It is so unbelievable that beta-sheet is so stable and which Alzheimer is take place when some protein fragment eventually arranged in beta-sheet aggregate.

I was told that there are chemist next to our lab, doing protein synthesis, had synthesized several enzymes in lab, but surprisingly they don't have activity. One had been explained that they are misfolded.

Misfolded proteins are a pain in the ass. I once did some research on the transport of misfolded proteins on the ER membrane in yeast cells. Sadly, no conclusive results.

So sad and painful. To lose someone you love to such a debilitating disease. If it brings about such emotion then you wrote a great post. Thanks. 🐓🐓

Coffee addiction can lead to insomnia, so everyone who has opium with coffee, they are difficult to night sleep.

That was not the topic though.

Hallo @suesa.This story is very sad, and very much we pity on this family. Because we know that Alzheimer's disease is not a contagious disease, that's the kind of syndrome with apoptosis of brain cells at about the same time and so the brain seems to shrivel and shrink. And Alzheimer's is also referred to as a synonymous disease with parents. The risk for developing Alzheimer's, increases accordingly. Starting at age 65, a person has a five percent risk of developing the disease and will double every five years. And already this disease with parents, but history proved the first disease known to suffer from this disease is women in their early 50s. Therefore, the mother who is suffering from this disease is not allowed to let alone because his mind will be stressful and if not on guard by the family is strongly recommended to stay in the nursing home and let him in a crowded and peaceful atmosphere.

Interesting story, hopefully this mother was able to fight this disease

Interesting and motivated posts. thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.23
ETH 3482.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53