Outcast - Short Story (Part 9)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

All the days we were the same, only thing that changed was the landscape that we used to go through. Although I must admit that after all that time we spent in exercising with spear and training of military maneuvers, our small unit of soldiers improved and now we have lined up for capable soldiers, or at least partially capable. What was obvious was that our detachment was now even closer to each other. Only the our Captain was separated from us, like on some distance, but he also belonged to us just as much as we do to him. We learned to accept the differences that exist between us. Everyone commented, at least those who knew more about it, that there were no children of the noble houses among us. Some thought that they were buying their better officers positions with their own influences and money or that they were buying professions to escape the army. No one complained that they were not in our unit because they considered them smeary.

The nature, forests and fields that surrounded the imperial road were more diverse than ever before, but I did not have the opportunity to examine all these plants. In the depths of my soul I suffered through this segment of my life, but I bore the hope that I would return to my the craft again after army. Those who knew what I was dealing with, it was clear what such sadness in my eyes was about as I look at the plants through which we pass. A few times, some of my military comrades would poison from food, or I would fall exhausted and I helped them. To each of them, and the Captain noted with what the coli effectivity, I do it. He told me several times that he would make sure that after this war, I was going to get a proper Imperial Education, even if it cost his career. He sad that he did not see such a talented medic ever in his life. But all this was far too far from the present to think about it now. I have to stay alive long enough for this to happen. But he gave me hope and I'm grateful for that.

No one else in our unit dared to ask the captain whether we are going to conquer someone else or defend our Empire, and that was the dilemma that all of us, which we talked about at night.

I started to feel the familiarity with that spear I slept with. The movements of the battle, the attitude of all this slowly was remembered by my muscles and I must admit that I felt comfortable with those weapons. It was, I knew deep within me, another betrayal of my people who never had armed conflicts. It was not in my nature to be violent, and it seems to me that I have awakened this primal need in myself. A few of us who stood out in the desire to improve the knowledge of the weapons battle, we told the Captain about that wish. And he was agreed to learn us more improved battle skills. After the standard engagement and marching that we performed every day, the Captain further instructed us in fighting and using weapons. We progressed with incredible speed, so much that the Captain himself had been surprised at times. Even said he was proud, and he was hard man.

One night, he told us that in two days we will be in the Capital and that there is no need to practice maneuvers anymore. From now on, we're just marching. There are new orders waiting for us there.

The Capital of the Empire was an oasis of magnificent buildings. We were situated in the vicinity of the city gates, and everywhere the view was spread within the city walls, villas, gardens, stone statues of incredible heights were seen. This can not be made with a human hand, I was sure of it. To the right of the city, on the fields we saw soldiers on horses, horsemen engaged in maneuvers. Thousands and thousands of people, soldiers everywhere around. The captain told us that as an army we will not enter the city and that our barracks are made on the opposite side of the city gates. We headed there, bypassing the city gate build from marble with double doorposts. The field on which our barracks were is at least like the surface of the City of Mirrors, all for soldiers only. Barracks built of stone, with roofs of some unknown material were full of soldiers. This military camp has wormed from life. Soldiers that were on guards sent us to our barracks, they gave us instructions. The captain took us there and after that we did not see him for two days.

And then he came, together with the captains of the other units with orders for the movement. We're going to war. We still did not know whether we are going to defend or conquer. And that made us all worried.

Image 1 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50