Old magician incoherent thoughts - Short story ( Part 2 )

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

These last days everything was covered in fog around our village. That same fog was here three centuries ago, when I was a little younger but this kingdom was in it's spring. First person who united nations under one banner was the same to call himself a King and five years after proclamation of his rule, he came to me. I remember that moment clearly as it happened just an hour ago.

In that time I was writing my tenth book about war magic, but nobody knew about the previous nine. I heard knocking at the door, but I thought that it was a servant and that it was probably the dinner, I forgot about the third night in a row. However, the rusty hinge frowned when that someone entered my workspace, someone to whom it was not allowed. Everyone was aware that I did not allow such incursions and after a few unfortunate cases nobody even dared to try. I prepared all the traps and sorcery in a moment, but I noticed a warrior backward that surprised me. I paused and he walked as if he own whole village, as though his place was there and that I came to him in the study room. Of course, I did not personally know him, but the stories of him overtook him, I knew who he was. Actually, I knew why he came. As I was at that time the wizard with the greatest influence in the world and the many mysteries that followed me, I knew that he had come to help him bring further destruction to the people.

Oh, he was fine and smooth, no fuss of his nomadic people. He wanted something to help his warriors be superior, so that he could rule by force and sword. He considered that the tense alliance of all nations can not be controlled differently than by pure and cruel force. I did not even think about what my answer would be, I knew that I would refuse it, but it was not easy to put it on hold, and my head stays on my shoulders and I do not consider myself a traitor. Although, as a special order of the people, the wizards, we were not openly and publicly petrified to wars and conflicts once we had to act.

The king was aware that only one little magic would give him more, and I had hundreds in my mind and my books.

He persuaded me for two days, and in the end, I managed to get out alive and partially unharmed. A year later wars broke out again, more violent and more destructive than ever before, the illness that follows every war has come. Many have died, including the king, which has led to new wars.

For the next decades, the entire continent was in the wilderness of occasional conflicts, the shifting of borders and dozens of kings. A lot of time passed to the next gifted leader who wanted and managed to retain power for himself. At that time, I did not deal more with the study of war magic, but what I had discovered so far was more than enough for me and the person who would get it from me to became a God. This man, capable, intelligent. It's a story for yourself, and maybe I'll tell her, but not now. The memory of this period is still hard for me, that exile lasted for 71 years and 45 days.

The wind blew heavily around my part of the tower. From here you could see the village in the palm of your hand, but not today, the mist has covered it. Fog. Why the wind blows like this when it's so foggy down there? And the window, why it's open, it's never open? The fears of fear came out of every pore on my skin, not for my life, but for my life's work. I am not ready to gave it to a time and incompetent minds on guard.

An owl with a letter in the beak flew through the same opened window. I changed it and went into a detailed search of the room and my work, everything has to stay where it is, it simply has to. The world is not ready for it. All this information will make too many of those who will be tyrannical.

It's been half an hour when I was convinced that everything was in its place and dedicated myself to the letter that was delivered to me. The coat of arms embossed on the wax that was sealed with a letter was not known to me, but the language to which it was addressed to me ... it was far too familiar to me. This time, the same shudders of fear came back. This language is spoken by no one on this continent ...

Image 1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94