The Exit Interview - Prologue (fiction, political, thriller)

in #fiction8 years ago

I am dragging myself down the hall.

I had to roll onto one side to shield my shot up leg from being dragged. I can't think because of the pain, but it's much worse when the leg is touching the ground.

I don't know how bad it is...I know it's bleeding bad. There is a wide swath of blood behind me, dragging along with me.

I can't hide that trail from those are after me.

I have passed out twice now, stuck to the ground by my own blood once. I have to get away. I have run from them so long, and they caught me today.

I can hear them yelling down the hall. They have found me.

I reach down for my pistol. It isn't there. It was in my hand. Did I drop it? I can't remember.

I can't crawl any faster.

I wake up again. I can hear them now...closer. They have started whispering to each other as they move into position.

There is the door. I can't make myself get up to the handle. I focus on pushing myself up, on ignoring the pain. I can't do it. Everything seems fuzzy.

I try to point my pistol at where they will burst out from. My hand is empty. My hand is heavy. I can't lift nothing, and I don't.

The adrenaline doesn't come, and the pain stays.

I hear movement. They are on me.

A man yells DON'T TAZE-

They shoot a lightning bolt up my nose. I can see it going into my brain. I can smell the electricity frying my spine. I can hear it light up the universe. The bolt forks and pokes my eyes out from inside the sockets.

I can go to sleep without my eyes now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31