You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: State of the Art -- Where Has the Fiction Gone?

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

curation rewards are set up so that a curator loses ROI if they take the time to read a fiction piece.

if your blog doesn't get noticed in that first hour...SOL

Now having said that, I think there is a future as far as writing here.

But right now I don't see a lot of immediate rewards for creators. For myself, that's fine...I see my efforts here as a long term investment in the platform.

For most writers? Exodus

How many years in the Steemit desert LOL

Sort:  

I initially came to steem to write .( having never really written before)
My first posts were way more fiction, and travel stories, more than anything.

Then the other stuff took over, and (real life issues), and the strange thing is - I noticed my 'creative juices' drying up.
I've noticed that I can't really do both simultaneously, real life and fiction(I keep trying).
Different parts of the brain, or something..

Agreed completely

working on @informationwar slowed me big time on anything else, but then again non-fiction requires a great deal of time in research as well.

It doesn't help that Steem is at a low value, so everybody took their toys and went home ;>

A really big appeal of this place was the engagement

I think I'm going to gripe about this every time it is close to relevant
By giving better rewards to curators for "discovering" "good" content, the platform makes posts over an hour old increasing less value for an investor/curator to read/discover/share/reward

So the reward motive for creators drops off a bit, as well

anyway, I'm here for the long run, and I hope some of the stuff in development pans out, but I'm not expecting any immediate return on what I do

I think you're spot on. This is an essential flaw of the platform. Fortunately, we can built interfaces that successfully address that problem. I can't wait to get Wordrow online. I hate that it's taking so long.

Wordrow?

Sounds interesting.

Do you have a brief overview or link?

Hopefully, when the devs finally get around to communities, that will help a bit; and as always, if the price of Steem goes up, then people will flock back to the platform

Here's an article that talks about it some, although I don't think we'd released the name of the site yet. :-)

https://steemit.com/thewritersblock/@thewritersblock/triangletheorywherewegonext-tk9lph91o5

This has happened through inappropriate use of our tag and being named in posts that have nothing to do with us.

happened to us in informationwar, but like the post said, pretty common across the board.

I like the "triangle" concept, and I'm looking forward to the site coming up; do you have an estimated launch date yet?

We're hoping to launch from Poland next week at Steemfest. But that depends on the developers. Fingers crossed. . . .

We've already launched the publishing house and will announce our first novel at Steemfest, too.

I'll keep an eye out.

Any restrictions on concurrently use smashwords or amazon publishing?

@rhondak When will there be another competition of fiction writers?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81