My Entry for the Concoct-a-Verb Contest

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

image.png

What is a Concoct-a-Verb? Well this was something really new to me so I have had to think for a while to come up with thing that would fix into this contest. First let me give you the break down of what we are doing here and we can all thank @blockuator.

"Concoct - Verb. To make up, contrive, or invent. To create, usually by combining two or more unrelated concepts in order to make a new one. Example: Slobundulate. The act of waving or wobbling in slovenly manner." credit @blockuator

Now that you know the idea of what you have to do to make up this new verb. The next part to is write a little story that shows your verb in action without using the words. I you want to enter time is short but go check out the post for full details.

image.png

This is the new Verb I came up with.

drunkcellence: To reach a level of excellence only when drunk.

I have seen this a few times in my life. Mind you it isn't just that fun guy that stands out at a party. But a person that has some clarity of thought or aches a feet that they would not normally be able to do. Now for my short story.

image.png

I arrived at the party a little late. I was handed a drink right away and Alfie told me I had to catch up. I felt that it might be a little more fun to stay behind this night and watch. I did enjoy a few drinks. But I got to watch a few bad pick up lines. Some really bad signing. Lot of other normal things that happen at a party. Then I made my way out to garage. That was when I found Alfie again.

Alife told me we were up next at the beer pong table. I wasn’t about to say no and figured we would play a few games and then head back into the house.. What my friend told me next I took to just be a buzzed guy bragging.

“You go first and if you can make a shot I will hit the same cup every time.”

I am not the best player but he is saying if I hit a shot we will get three cups and balls back each time. I didn’t think that would last even one game. I was wrong. It was a amazing thing to watch. We beat more than one team on our first turn. We won so many games in a row that the beer in our cups was warm. People gathered to watch us play. For a few hours we reached a level neither of us ever matched again.

image.png

Well thank you for checking this out if you did.

Image Source

Sort:  

I love your word! I'm sure I've achieved to the level of drunkcellent at some point in my life, but not very often. These days, I don't even get drunk. Thanks for playing!

It was fun, this is a hard level to reach you have to be able to still know what your doing but just lose all those things that hold you back sometimes

Yeah, you have to push yourself. If you want to grow, you've got to step out of your comfort zone. Take risks, fall on your face, skin your knees. It hurts, but you come out stronger.

Hey, @stever82!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steemit project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

The verb suits many people who act like philosophers after some drinking.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes that is one of the other ideas I had for my word just didn't see how to fit that into the contest. Takes more than 250 words to get into the philosophers that come out after a few drinks.

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.651 which ranks you at #14300 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 52 places in the last three days (old rank 14352).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #233.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63