How To Think Like an Animal

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

human-1219543_1920.jpg

“Sometimes I try to think like an animal.”

“How can you think like an animal? You think in words, sentences, phrases. You think in terms of yourself and others. Animals can do none of this.”

“I want to see the world without the structure words, sentences, and phrases place around it. I try to see things without naming them. I want to understand things without knowing them.”

“Can you?”

“Of course not. I’m not sure it’s possible.”

“Then why do it?”

“Because we're missing something. I'm sure of that.”

“What are we missing?”

“How would I know?”

“How do you know we're missing anything?”

“Because I name everything I see, yet sometimes I act beyond those names.”

“Beyond those names?”

“Sometimes I act in a way that doesn’t make sense. Take this morning. I’m on my way to work, sitting in traffic. Here comes this car driving on the shoulder, passing everyone. Moments later, I realize I’m screaming like crazy.”

“I don’t know, doesn’t sound ‘outside the ordinary’ to me. I yell at other drivers all the time. We have rules--I want them to obey.”

“We have rules because we named everything. But my anger didn’t come from rules. It came from somewhere else. My mind wasn’t full of words, because there were no words--it was beyond words. I felt alive without words. I was using them, but my vigor came from deeper than words go. Anyhow, the point is--it’s more than road rage.”

“And you associate that ‘feeling beyond words’ with ‘thinking like an animal’? And now you want to ‘think like an animal’ on purpose?”

“I do. And, I do.”

“And why are you telling me all this?”

“I need your help.”

“How can I help you?”

“I know you’ve been sleeping with my wife.”

The End

Image Credit

Join the discords to improve your writing and/or grow your network. Joining these discords has made the difference when it comes to realizing the true potential of STEEM!

#votu #vo.tu





Sort:  

you have to think link an animal to kill a person, dont you?

the end was shocking haha, nicely done!

Thank you. I know my main character felt that he had to. Thanks for reading it!

oh....it catch me...at the end...you are sleeping with my wife...maybe that animalistic event brought out what you said you think like animal in you...

I like your writing ...

Thank you - and thank you for taking the time to read it.

Nice!!!! Loved it. And could resonate with that dialogue..... (not the end part, however).

I know the ending isn't for everyone (Not everyone who read this in its development liked the ending, but I decided to go with it anyhow). Thanks for reading it!

There's an animal inside all of us. Great writing!
This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Thanks @chelsea88. I appreciate what you do.

Ohh that packs quite a punch! Nice progression to the surprise ending.

Thank you! It was so much fun to write - and to test how far I could stretch dialogue without tags. Thanks for reading it.

Well you did an excellent piece! Keep it up. Are you writing a book! If not you should be.

Wow, what an intense write this must have been, indeed! Nicely executed, and a great surprise twist in the story! Kudos! 😊

Thank you. I had a lot of fun writing this one - all dialouge. Thanks for reading it!

Neglected is very good but it is good to feel afraid but it is good

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @steemitgraven29 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@steemitgraven29 this post was presented at the most recent Pimp Your Post Thursday on the Steemit Ramble Discord. I have written a post to share your featured post. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your name in lights right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64