Strange Mist Of The Day; Chapter 1 - Fiction

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Agunola village is a small village of about sixty houses, surrounded with rivers and forest and one tall mountain called AGUNLA the Agunla mountain.is of about 2000metres high above as it looks as if it is reaching out there for the blue sky,the mountain is covered with a rug of trees, green, yellow, but her bare tops is scarfed and beribboned and it looks so cloudy. The village is said to be named after the mountain as history have it,some said there are mountain spirit inside and some said there are living humans in the mountain but no one really knows the mysterious story behind it and no one dares move towards it.Agunola has a palace with twenty rooms in it and you can see guards patrolling it day and night without resting, that's where the king of the land resides. Farming is the major occupation of the people and the village is well know for their Palm oil production.



At the first moon of the year looking afar off everywhere looks dirty and dusty,its clear that it is the harmattan season. The clay moulded ancient houses are reddish in color and could be sited everywhere, the roofing sheets of those houses are reddish brown in color and all worn out as the breeze of the harmattan kept on flying the sheets up and giving different sounds. The doors to each house looks just like letter H,they are made out of palm tree and the doors are movable. Most houses looks the same expect for the fact that they all had the house name on the wall written large and bold with charcoal, that's the only thing you can use to differentiate one house from the other. The streets of this village are of clay Tide and you could see one or more gutters leading to a nearby river that is full of dirt and wasted things.
On the street are different people moving from one place to another,some men are carrying bags on their backs and dogs are seen hanging around with them, young boys are seen holding cutlass and slaughtered a rabbit, its clear that they are coming from the farm and from hunting going back home.



Most cashew trees and mango trees are all flowered up and one can easily pluck fruits on them to eat. The feeling here is a peaceful one as you could see people greeting each other bending and nodding their heads,and little kids helping adults returning to take off their loads.
The breeze of the harmattan looks harsh as the lips of the people are dried of,legs are whitish and even the hair looks nothing less than dust,almost everything here looks dirty and rough.
Its long I have been here,as I kept on moving around in circles in my shattered dirty clothes,I look so rough and dirty,I am trying to locate my house, where exactly is Ajibola's house located? I couldn't locate or find my way there and no one will answer me because I was more or less like a madman who just recovered and trying to retrieve back his sense. So I could understand why no one could answer me or approach me for help,but am also lost I don't know why am dressed this way and what actually happened to me but firstly am just praying silently to see someone who could at least be of help to me.



As I kept on roaming around in circles,I got tired then I saw a mango tree at the front of a house that I couldn't read the name on it,the name has faded out so I couldn't read it,I sat down gently and hungry and just like a minute or so I saw an old woman coming out of the house,she moves close to me and asked me to stand up and follow her,finally I got an help,I can rest here for the night at least. I moved in quietly with the woman without saying a word as she gave me water to drink and showed me to a room to rest. She left me in the room and not long she returned back with a plate of food on her hand, I couldn't hesitate as I was so hungry I ate the food and said thanks MA. That was my first words,just two words,thanks ma. Its now late in the night as I stare at the moon through the window and slept off.

Sort:  

This post is very nice keep on steeming
@gbenga you guys are my boss... I greet you

Agunola village never heard of that before. Lovely post I must say it felt so real I could see my self in the picture through you writings and describe up descriptions

Reminds me of one childhood story, "Sugar Girl". Thanks sir

A very nice post. Thank you for this.

Thanxs for info...sir..that's a great knowledge.. And i appreciated you...gud job...

Hello @steem-virus, this is a lovely piece of work you have here, I have been afected by a virus never knew it was called a steemit-virus, so I have resteemed and upvote you with the little I have for Africa to see. please keep the good working going...

steem-africa.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83