NERD SQUAD - Episode 3

in #fiction6 years ago

In this episode, Hubert uncovers what his handlers believe is a conspiracy of epic proportions.

In the previous episode of Nerd Squad, Hubert completed his mission by stealing old Mr. Puddleston’s data from his computer.  In Puddleston’s data, a new target was found.  Now his FBI handler, Mr. Clapper, has a new mission in mind.

Scene 1

Back at Nerd Squad headquarters inside Fried Electronics department store…..Hubert walks in and finds Mr. Clapper waiting for him, nonchalantly twirling in a puffy office chair.

Mr. Clapper:  Hey Hubert.  Nice striped shirt! Wow, I didn’t think it was possible, but it actually makes you look skinnier.

Hubert (looking at himself in self-conscious manner):  Well, what do you want, that I dress in all black like a cat burglar or something?

Mr. Clapper:  Not criticizing, just analyzing.    
Hubert:  You’re here awfully early.  Where’s Berry?

Berry’s voice comes from his personal office in back, with the door shut….

Berry (shouting):  I’m in here, guzzling coffee, eavesdropping, and wondering where my life went wrong!
Mr. Clapper (shouting back):  I thought you said you couldn’t hear from in there!

Berry:  You bought that?! You’re not very good at your job!

Mr. Clapper (turns back to Hubert):  Ok, kid.  Here’s your next assignment.  We found a guy on Puddleston’s email list that we want you to get at.  His name is Mohamed Jones.    

Hubert:  So what did he do?
Mr. Clapper:  Well, he’s Muslim.

Hubert:  And?
Mr. Clapper:  Do you need another reason?

Berry (yelling behind his door):  I’m scared of Muslims!
Mr. Clapper:  The tricky part is, he’s never been a customer here.

Hubert:  So how the hell am I supposed to get into his house?
Mr. Clapper:  You’re reasonably smart.  Can’t you infect his computer with a virus or something?

Berry:  Don’t overestimate him!

Melinda and Billy walk into the picture. 

Mr. Clapper:  You two aren’t privy to this conversation, so I’m gonna have to ask you to leave.
Melinda (groggy):  I work here, unfortunately.  You don’t.

Berry (yelling):  It’s ok, you guys come in here and eavesdrop with me!
Hubert (exclamatory):  Wait, I got it! Melinda can do it!   

Melinda:  I’m not doing anything that you think is a good idea.    
Billy:  I don’t blame you.

Mr. Clapper:  No way, kid.    
Hubert:  Why not?

Clapper:  Cuz she’s not on the payroll.
Hubert:  So put her on the payroll!

Melinda:  I’m listening.
Clapper:  You guys gotta go.

Melinda:  I’m declaring myself privy to this conversation.  What am I getting paid for?
Clapper:  You’re not!

Berry (comes out of office):  Spying on a Muslim.  You gotta somehow get Hubert into his house in a quasi-legitimate way.
Billy:  A Muslim? That’s simple, just show him some ankle, Melinda.    

Clapper (scribbling furiously on notepad, then rips sheet off and hands to Hubert):  Here’s his address and all the info you need, kid.  I’m leaving it in your hands. (flustered)  If you screw this up, there’ll be consequences!

Clapper leaves the building hastily.

Melinda:  So I want a 60 percent cut.
Hubert:  I’m perfectly capable of doing this alone.  And why 60? It should be 50/50.

Berry:  Hey, if you’re doing this on company time, I’m gonna need at least 20 percent.    
Hubert (flustered):  What? No, I’ll do it on my own time.    

Billy (laughing):  You’re just gonna show up at some random dude’s house and convince him to let you in.  Not only let you in, but get onto his personal computer?   

Hubert (proud, defiant):  Yep! 

Billy:  Great, I’ll start the office pool right now.  This is gonna be epic!
Berry:  Hey, while you’re at it, Billy, run across the street to Happy’s Bar and see if the staff wants in!

5 minutes later……Hubert is sitting in his old Toyota Tercel, unsure what to do.

Hubert:  Hmmm, maybe I’ll try calling first, rather than in person.  (looks at phone, takes deep breath, dials number)

Phone ringing…..

Mohamed:  Hello?
Hubert (nervous, fumbling for words):  Hi, you don’t have an accent.

Mohamed:  Who is this?
Hubert:  Oh, um, this is Hubert from Fried Electronics Nerd Squad.  We’re offering free computer tune-ups.

Mohamed:  I hate Fried Electronics.  Don’t call again. (click)
Hubert (sweating):  Glad that wasn’t in person.

5 minutes later…Hubert walks back into the office…..

Billy (sarcastic):  Hubert! Epically astonished to see you back so soon!
Melinda:  I should raise my cut to 70.

Hubert:  Ok, ok, 60 percent, and you can’t tell Clapper.  Deal?
Melinda:  Deal. You get paid 500, right?
Hubert:  Yep.

Melinda:  What’s 60 percent of 500?
Billy:  More than you make here in a week.

Berry:  I still want my 20 percent, too.
Hubert:  So I’m risking my neck and make the same amount as you, Berry? How is that fair?

Berry (nonchalant, uncaring):  It’s not.

Scene 2

Melinda is approaching Mohamed’s modest, well-maintained house in the suburbs.  She’s dressed to impress.  Hubert is waiting in his Tercel around the corner.  Melinda knocks at front door. 

Mohamed (pleasant, smiling):  Can I help you?
Melinda:  Hi, I’m from Computers-R-Us.  We’re offering a free computer check-up and free maintenance for six months.    

Mohamed:  Sure, sounds great! Come on in!
Melinda: What's your name?

Mohamed:  Mohamed Jones.

Melinda:  I’ll send someone over right away.

Mohamed frowns as Melinda walks away.    

2 minutes later, Hubert is knocking on the door….

Mohamed:  Can I help you?
Hubert:  I’m Hubert, from Computers-R-Us.

Mohamed:  What happened to the girl?
Hubert:  She’s just in sales.  I’m the tech guy.

Mohamed:  Bummer. (rolls eyes) Come in, I guess.

As they walk through the house, Hubert notices a handsome, fully stocked gun rack.  He also sees some bacon strips on the kitchen table.    

Hubert:  I thought Muslims don’t eat pork.
Mohamed (surprised):  What makes you think I’m Muslim?

Hubert (grasping for words):  Oh, I dunno.  Just, ya know.
Mohamed:  Because of my name?

Hubert:  Maybe.
Mohamed:  I’m not Muslim, and I’ve never even visited a so-called Muslim country.  (gestures to the desk and computer) Have a seat.    

Hubert sits.  Mohamed stares at him.
Hubert:  Could I have some water?   

Mohamed (suspicious):  I’m sorry, I don’t feel comfortable leaving you alone.  You can come with me to the kitchen if you want.

Hubert:  On second thought, this will only take a few minutes.  I’ll be ok.  (digs out cell phone from pocket) Gotta contact work real quick.    

Hubert sends a text to Melinda and asks for her to come knock again.  A few minutes later, a loud bang on the door. 

 Mohamed:  I’ll be back, fast.  And I have a ton of hidden cameras.

Mohamed opens front door.

Melinda:  Hey, sorry, me again.  I got a flat tire, can you help me real quick? My car is a just around the corner.
Mohamed:  I suppose I could take a look.   

Hubert takes the opportunity to copy Mohamed’s hard drive.  Mohamed returns.

Hubert: All finished up!
Mohamed:  Your sales girl’s car got stolen.

Hubert (feigning shock):  Oh no!
Mohamed:  She’s outside crying.

Hubert:  Ok, well, I’d better get going.  Your computer is in tip-top shape.    
Mohamed:  Where is your store located?

Hubert: Um, downtown.  I’ll email you.
Mohamed:  Do you need my email address?

Hubert:  Nope, already got it.
Mohamed:  I didn’t give it to you.

Hubert (shaky, nervous):  Ya didn’t? Well, then, I’d better get it.
Mohamed (suspicious):  On second thought, let me get your contact info as well.

They swap contact info. Hubert leaves.

Scene 3

The next day at Nerd Squad headquarters in Fried Electronics…...

Melinda:  So Hubert gave him his real name and contact info.
Billy (laughing):  This surprises you?

Melinda:  It does, but it shouldn’t.
Berry:  Where is that little pip-squeak, anyway?

Melinda:  Hopefully collecting our money.

Scene 4 

Hubert is talking with Clapper at a park.

Clapper (laughing):  You gave him your real name?
Hubert:  Is that a problem?

Clapper:  For you, it might be.  Not for me, that’s why I’m laughing.
Hubert:  So when’s my next assignment?

Clapper:  After we dig through this Muslim guy’s data, we’ll find someone for ya.
Hubert:  He’s not even Muslim, ya know.

Clapper (paranoid, looking over shoulder):  That’s what he’d like us to think.

Scene 5

The next day, Clapper is in the office of his boss, Mr. Prick, at FBI headquarters.

Mr. Prick (pacing around anxiously):  Wow, a Muslim with guns, a garden, and has contact with an anarchist.
Clapper (shaking head):  What is this world coming to, sir?

Mr. Prick (slams fist on desk, dark red face):  Damnit, Clapper, isn’t it obvious?! It’s a damn Anarcho-Muslim Gun And Garden Network!      

Clapper (scratching chin thoughtfully):  Hmmmm, that’s a hell of an acronym, sir!  AMGAGN. It’s just so crazy, it might be right!

Mr. Prick (hands on hips):  Damnit, clapper, of course it’s right! I thought of it, didn’t I?
Clapper:  I can’t argue with that flawless logic, sir.  The question is, what do we do now?

Mr. Prick:  You send the kid after this anarchist girl, that’s what! She’ll lead us up the ladder to the AMGAGN leadership!
Clapper:  Are you sure you want to use such an incompetent asset on a high value target, sir?

Mr. Prick (slams hand on desk again):  Damnit, Clapper! Of course!  The more incompetent, the more plausible deniability he gives us.  We need results, Clapper! Now get on it!

Clapper (standing and saluting):  Yes, sir! 

Stay tuned for episode 4!

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from flickr


 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60