Third Eye Satellite Gun - Short Fiction (at least I hope so!)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

The local population was drowsy. Everyone was kind of – eh. Blah. Gray sky and thoughtless thoughts. Numbness.

I drove through this town by accident. After having a wonderful cup of coffee at the local diner, I decided to stay for a few days. I study people, and these were not regular people, like you and me. Emotionless zombies man. Dread in their face, and hopelessness in their eyes.

People in this town never smiled.

No one was able to think. People ran out of gas, and when they could no longer afford more, they started walking everywhere. Trouble was, they were always forgetting where they were going. Even questioning where they were coming from!

What it something in the town's drinking water? Was there something in the ground, once dormant, now floating around in the air? I surely thought the lack of fresh fruit and vegetables in this food desert played a role.

Crime ran rampant, as the Police came around less and less. Petty crimes such as robberies and fights were every day occurrences. The real problem was the number of unsolved murders. In such a small town, there was a good possibility the murderer drank his coffee at the dinner. Too close for my comfort.

One day I was crossing the street, making my way to the gas station to buy some gum, when I saw the sign!

There it was, right in front of me! Right then it hit me! Like a sign in the face!

How could I have been so closed minded! I was only focused on what's in front of me, not the bigger picture.

I had to get in touch with the President, and the Intelligence Agencies! STAT! This was becoming a NATIONAL EMERGENCY! I need support here NOW!

Panic set in, but I managed to make my way over to the local hardware store and bought myself a mega phone. The louder the better; I had to be heard! I had to inform the people! This was serious!

I also bought a cardboard poster board and markers, with some tape and string, to hang around my neck.

I made my way across town, to the corner of the busiest intersection, and knew EXACTLY what I had to do.

“Please hear my distress call – we need dire help. Bring out the National Guard!” I announced over the mega phone.

“There is a third eye satellite gun machine killing the people here! Believe me, IT IS THE TRUTH!”

“CHECK ON YOUR NEIGHBORS! Call TRUMP! Call the FBI! Call the NEEEWWWSSS!”

"Secret Societies are ruining your life! NASA has Satellites aimed at your head, and they're making you this way!"

"WAKE UP!"

What happened next no one could have foreseen.

Someone threw a chocolate frosty in my face and told me to shut up.

It became clear that I needed to leave this town; it was too late for everyone else.

FICTION: NOT REAL: NOT THIS REALITY : For entertainment only- HAVE A LAUGH

Saw this sign down the street the other day, I thought I would write a story about it. Anyone know anything about third eye satellites?

Hope it was entertaining,

Make it a great day!

Sort:  

I hope you don't mind me following you, you my friend writes some good short stories. Enjoy reading.

Thank you for that. Don't mind at all! Come on in my friend, stick around. Appreciate your positivity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68