Black Dawn: Chapter 9

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Black Dawn

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8

Chapter 9

Five years of his life were taken, in a matter of seconds, by one man, who manipulated the entire government against him. The same government Adam spent his adult life serving; risking his life, sacrificing because it was the right thing to do. And now, after five years alone in exile, Adam has that one man at the other end of his rifle. Adam rarely lets his emotions get the best of him, but the anger and rage, the sheer hatred he has for Heenan for destroying everything he had built, is about to get the best of him. Heenan knows this, but Maria has never seen this side of Adam, and for the first time, feels scared around him. She tries to calm Adam down.

"Adam? This isn't you, I don't what happened during the last five years, but.."

"Stay out of this, Maria. Please."

Just like always, Heenan tries to do the one thing in life he knows: talk his way out of it.

"I understand how you feel.."

He is quickly interrupted by an even more enraged Adam.

"Do you?! Do you really? It took me 14 years to build up a life. 14 years of sacrificing. For people like you! It took you, and the entire government, two seconds to tear it all down. But you know how I feel, huh? You really know how I feel?"

Adam places pressure on the trigger, but Maria is just quick enough to step in.

"No! Adam! No!"

Adam snaps out of it momentarily, as Maria continues.

"Don't become one of them, please. Because you're not."

Maria always had a way of talking to Adam, a way of getting through to him. And Adam respects Maria. He slowly lowers his weapon, but not because of Heenan. Heenan, however, is pleased.

"I knew you'd understand! We can talk it out, and.."

Adam opts to punch Heenan in the face, however, and raises him up by his collar.

"Don't think for a second I'm through with you! I hope for your sake you have something to worthwhile to say, because I just might change my mind any second. Am I making myself clear?"

"Clear! V-very clear, sir!"

Maria wants to use this opportunity to finally hear the story of what happened five years ago. She knows the official story, but feels there is more to it than that.

"What happened that day? Five years ago?"

"Why don't you fill her in, Heenan, huh? Why don't you tell her how your administration ordered my execute a child, an unarmed little boy, and then ordered your hounds to hunt me down when I refused, huh? Why don't you tell her that?"

The memories of that day quickly flood Adam's mind, causing an adrenaline rush that fuels his anger to an almost uncontrollable level. The day when Adam was on a mission to take out the leader of an extreme islamist terrorist cell, who his team had hunted down and finally located. To get the job done, Adam was forced to kill him in front of his son.

That Adam can live with. It was his mission. He was the leader of a terrorist cell that was responsible for countless of innocent people dying. It's part of the job.

What he couldn't live with was being ordered to kill the boy. That was not part of the job. And, in Adam's mind, there's never a reason for that. As soon as Adam said no, he was persona non grata - an enemy to the country he spent his life serving. Maria's father was the only person taking Adam's side, and later filled him in that it was LLoyd Heenan who manipulated the chain of command in order to convince them that Adam needed to be taken out for refusing a direct order. Bruce had suspicions that there was more to it than that. Suspicions which he later shared with Adam.

Adam was able to escape by the skin of his teeth, and has spent every day since thinking about why and what happened on that day. It seems to him that everything that has happened today is bringing things to a full circle, and it's no coincidence.

Maria turns to look at the scared Heenan, being held by Adam.

"What did you do, Heenan?"

"I-it's not like it was my call!"

Adam strengthens the choke on Heenan, making it harder for Heenan to speak. Adam is dying to know more.

"Who made the call? For once in your worthless, miserable life, you piece of shit, the truth."

"I-I can't.."

Adam knees Heenan in the gut and presses him harder to the wall.

"Like hell you can't!"

Maria is conflicted; he is scared of this side of Adam, but at the same time he is disgusted with Heenan, and wants answers. Heenan seems like he wants to talk, but something is holding him back.

"N-no, you don't understand.. You don't understand, they will kill me."

"Who?"

"The people who lured you here!"

"The terrorists?"

"No! They're not behind this! None of this is real, this is no terrorist incident, Adam!"

Heenan tries to talk more, but seems to be having trouble breathing. Adam shows no remorse.

"Who's behind this! Answer me!"

Heenan starts coughing uncontrollably, and can't get a word out. Maria, who is a doctor, gets worried, as she noticed Heenan showing symptoms of a heart attack.

"Oh my God, he's having a heart attack!"

Adam lets go of Heenan, and as he collapses, Maria tries to help him out, but it seems to be too late. Heenan knows what's happening all too well.

"It's.. It's too late. You can't stop it now.."

"Damnit, Heenan, you're not dying on me now! What's going on here! Who are 'they'?"

Heenan tries to speak, but struggles to get words out. He turns to look at Maria, as he knows what he is about to say will resonate with her.

"Simon.. Simon.. Silverman."

Heenan gasps for the last time, as life escapes his body, and he dies. Adam noticed Heenan turning to Maria as he uttered the name, Adam wants to know if Maria knows anything about it.

"That name? Does it mean anything to you?"

It does, but Maria can't quite put her finger on it.

"Silverman. I've heard that.. I know I've heard that. Umm, I can't remember, I.. I don't know, Adam. I'm sorry, I don't know."

Adam is disappointed, but knows it's not Maria's fault.

"It's okay. Never mind that, we need to.."

Adam is interrupted by the sound of an alarm going off. The conversation was being listened to by Derek, wanting to get the same answers as Adam, but know that Heenan is gone, he has ordered the troops to go get Adam.

"Shit!"

Adam and Maria realize they're trapped; the elevator is the only way out of the detention area, and the troops are surely waiting for them on the other side. And if they stay put, they're sitting ducks anyway. Maria gets scared.

"What are we gonna do?"

Adam surveys the situation for a moment.

The guards arrive to the detention area, and slowly search all the cells. They arrive to the cell Heenan was being held, with their guns in position, but are confused to find nothing but a dead body.


Derek was not the only person monitoring the situation, as the very Simon Silverman had his eyes on everything that happened, as well. He is communicating with someone through his headphone mic.

"I shut down Heenan's pacemaker. They know my name, which wasn't part of the plan but I don't think it's enough to interfere with anything. I'm sure Derek was listening in, but it matters very little at this point. Adam and Derek will both be dead soon anyway. Yes, proceeding as planned."

Sort:  

Very cool - I have heard of certain methods of hacking people's pacemakers although I'm not sure if it has ever happened in real life - I suspect it is only a matter of time if it isn't already happening.

https://twitter.com/Soul_Eater_43/status/855866825581703169

Soul_Eater_43 The Cryptofiend tweeted @ 22 Apr 2017 - 19:32 UTC

Black Dawn: Chapter 9 — Steemit buff.ly/2pQ6WSu

#action #writing https://t.co/9pCyd5Sr8m

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

Thanks a lot. :)

Definitely liking this work. But damn, I just read three chapters and it's gone 02.00! Just had to finish them.

Thanks a lot for the input, I appreciate it a lot. You mean the chapters were too long? If so, they can definitely be made shorter.

You mentioned in the beginning that the first chapter was rough, do you think it's gotten better as the story has gone on?

Feedback welcome. :)

Well I guess it got better.
No, the chapters are fine...it just kept me wanting to read more. 😀 And that surely is what a good story should do.

very cool... like it! upvote and follow! greets the @artpoet

If you enjoyed it, check out the previous entries. :)

Damnit, Heenan, you're not doing on me now!

dat typo :p

Whoa! Must have been autocorrect being wonky. Fixed and thanks. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87