Mystery of the Coronation Sword Act Three

in #fiction7 years ago

As the title indicates, this is ACT 3. If you have not read the other parts, please see the Mystery of the Coronation Sword Introduction and Acts 1 and 2. After reading this section, make your guesses!!! Who stole the coronation sword????

Duke of Lilly Glade: THIS is the ROYAL FAMILY. If the sword is not found, rule of this kingdom should be returned to my family.

Queen: And you would take steps to make sure the sword was never found. We already know you have no problem defacing treasures of the realm.

Duke: You can prove nothing.

Queen: I think it’s already been proven. Even the court Fool figured it out. Moreover, I am Queen. I don’t have to prove anything, just decree that you can be executed for your crime.

Duke: Yes you do have great power, don’t you? But that power will disappear when the prince takes the throne. How will you rule then? Or are you looking forward to the rest, Your Majesty?

Queen: I have done what was best for the kingdom and will continue to do so. You, I believe, are avoiding the real question. You were in the castle and could have stolen the sword.

Duke: Had I stolen the sword, would I be standing here before you, or ruling over you?

King: ooo, ooo I know! Pick me (waving hand around)

Queen: Interesting but I notice there is still no “yes or no” answer.

Duke: The answer is obvious. Though I admit to nothing if what you say is true then your own Stable Boy testified that the sword was still around after I would have molested it. I was startled and dropped, I mean I was in court with you that day. Watch your back, your Majesty. I am beginning to feel more and more Royal as the evening proceeds.

Lady High Treasurer: The Duke would very much like taking the throne just to get rid of his debt to the crown, Your Majesties.

King: How much does he owe, Lady? His mother makes amazing cookies. Maybe he could pay part of it off in baked goods!!

Lady High Treasurer: I don’t think there is enough room in the treasury or the kitchen to hold that many cookies, Sire.

Royal Chef: Don’t say it your Majesty. I promise I will make you cookies!

King: How did you know I wanted cookies?! What a wonderful subject you are.

Queen: Lady High Treasurer, have we made demands on the Duke’s debt lately?

Lady High Treasurer: Yes, as a matter of fact we have, Potentate. That was why he was to appear before you that day.

Queen: And would the value of the sword or the jewels on the sword have covered his debt?

Lady High Treasurer: I don’t think you understand the value of the sword or the jewels. That sword is worth more than all of the assets in the kingdom and probably the kingdom of the Singing Mountains combined!

Queen: And yet it has travelled all over the countryside and has been lost without anyone keeping an eye on it at all?!

Lady High Treasurer: Were such a fine item my responsibility this would not be the case. My White Staff is treated with honor and kept locked up when I am not using it. The coronation sword is a family heirloom and is not considered part of the treasury. If anything it would fall under the protection of the Crown Jeweler. If I were allowed to count the sword as part of our coffers we would be the richest kingdom in the world. Instead it is tossed about like a toy.

Crown Jeweler: Get it back and I will take responsibility for it. I would love to examine the jewels and feel the quality of the hilt.

Queen: Hold your peace Jeweler. I have one more question for the Lady High Treasurer. The Blacksmith stated that he has yet to receive payment for services rendered. Why have you not paid him for the repairs to the sword?

Lady High Treasurer: No one has asked me to pay him and neither have I seen that the work has been done. Would your Majesty want me to pay without knowing the work was completed and sound?

Blacksmith: Are you questioning my artistry? I am the best Blacksmith around and you would not pay me because you have misplaced the most precious item in the kingdom? I may sacrifice my head for saying so but I am glad the sword is no longer in the castle. You people have no idea how to care for such an exquisite masterpiece.

Queen: Blacksmith, stay your tongue before you lose it. Lady High Treasurer, pay the Blacksmith for his work. Though he is walking a fine line between truth and treason, I will not have it said that the realm does not pay its debts.

Princess: Begging your pardon, Your Majesty, but you have left someone out. What about the Prince?

Prince: Me?! I am the one being crowned. Why would I steal Lightning Blade?

Princess: I am reminded of a conversation we had when I first came to this castle. I told you in no uncertain terms that I did not wish to marry you. You said, “True power cannot be given. It must be taken by force.” Does it bother you, Prince, that you are inheriting your power?

Prince: Do not play games with me, Princess. Power is power and I will take it in any form I can get it. When I am King, there will be no inquiries. I will execute people until either the guilty is punished or confessions are made. My rule will be total and complete and I will not be questioned.

King of the Singing Mountains: Then you shall not marry my daughter! This entire kingdom if daft!

Prince: Good! The Monarchy is not for the weak. Give me 10 minutes with each of these suspects and we will have the sword.
King: Ok, but question yourself first using the same tactics you would use on the others. Then once you are cleared, we will see if someone confesses. Chef, where are those cookies?

Chef: Later, Sire.

Queen: According to what I’ve heard, everyone had reason to take the sword but no one did it. The only thing I know for sure is that my son is not fit to rule.

Prince: What? Mother you can’t. Father, say something.

King: You would be a horrible King and your Mother and I are doing a fine job together. You can’t have the Kingdom, or the girl. My only question concerning ruling is whether or not to stop taking the Apothecary’s amazing remedies. They make me quite happy!

Prince: No, I was born to rule!

King: Aww, poor boy. You’ll have to find something else to be born for. How about being a chimney sweep?

King of the Singing Mountains: But who stole the sword?

Jester: The story so goes and so I surmise,
The sword taken from the kitchen by one who arrives.
The thief had good reason but erred in the space,
One little clue was left in its place.
Everyone present had reason to take,
A sword of power, make no mistake.
But only one culprit this deed did achieve,
And in so doing saved the Kingdom from siege.
Oh Pangs of Hunger, my stomach attests,
It’s time for payment for all of my jests.
Dear Queen, may we please adjourn for the day?
The answers before you in a very small way.
The thief stands before you in this group I know,
But hero not thief is this person’s mode.
Forgive and forget upon Lightning Blade’s return.
An err in judgment, perhaps, but salvation now learned.
The Monarchy remains a glowing anvil of strength
A nation restored, loyalty regained I think.
If you still do not know who holds the missing hilt,
I pray think some more on the subject of guilt.

King: Well said Jester. You remain a wise and loyal subject. Chef, cookies all around!

Sort:  

Congratulations @sabtksb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sabtksb! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sabtksb! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26