My story of depression #thebestcanonlybefromyou# #suicide is not an option#

in #fiction6 years ago

Growing up for me wasnt that easy because I had to battle with so many mental health challenge which end up reducing my self esteem and became an introvert .I've been dealing with major depression in my entire adult life. In high school I fought my parents to let me see a therapist, and when I finally saw one before my senior year of high school, I was diagnosed with major depression, OCD, and social anxiety disorder(I never had a perfect social life because of fear of rejection). Senior year was tough , I was always with the therapist. I confided in a few close friends who were supportive, but frankly I was relieved to leave my hometown for a college in a different part of the country. I thought things would change, and that my depression would disappear because I was finally away from my hometown but I was wrong.
I saw a school counselor in my freshman year at college, but I was too distracted by the newness of it all to really focus on my mental health. The summer after freshman year, my depression returned in full force. Upon returning to school for the first semester of my sophomore year, I was unable to recognize that my depression had completely incapacitated me. I attempted suicide soon after the semester began , the only reason I survived is because my friends realized there was something wrong with me that night. Afterwards, I dropped out of school and returned home to get the help I so desperately needed.IMG_20180405_091313.jpg
I went through four different therapists and five different medications before I found the combination that worked for me, and when that happened it was not like magic, it wasn't like a beam of sunlight breaking through the clouds. It was like trudging up a mountain pass, swamped in mud and ice with an 80-pound weight around my neck. But finally I reached the peak, and started down an easier path. There are still many days that I force myself uphill again, but now my pack is a little lighter, I have the tools to make the going a little easier, and I know that I have loved ones who have and will continue to carry me on days when I just can't walk anymore. I always start hiking again the next morning.IMG_20180405_091227.jpg
That's my story on depression, I just want to encourage my steemians this morning who is going through any difficult moment or the other not to give up but keep pressing until you get the best from you because the best can only cone from you if u let go of that challenging moment and move forward to a better place. Suicide is not an option but a killer of goals and achievable dreams.IMG_20180405_091142.jpg
JUST KEEP MOVING FORWARD
There’s only one thing you can do when confronted with difficult times: Just Keep Moving forward Don’t allow the challenges of life to break you. Don’t allow these difficult experiences to derail you from pursuing your dreams. When life pushes you to the ground, force yourself back up again. Keep fighting the hardship and make one tiny little step after another. Moving forward during times of hardship is incredibly difficult and challenging.But remember that this is the most crucial time of your life for whatever action you take will determine how your life will go.Always have a strong believe in your own dignity and worth.Don't ever allow any situation tie you down,don't ever allow anyone make you feel you are a nobody! Always have the determination to achieve excellence. Martin Luther King Jnr said "Be a bush if you can't,be a tree,if you can't be a highway just be a trail,if you can't be the sun be the star"Be the best of whatever you are or do.This is why Martin Luther king Jnr further submits that "If you can't fly,run...if you can't run then walk,if you can't walk then crawl" By all means,just keep moving and don't stop. After some time, you’ll notice that by taking one step after another, you’ve eventually overcome the struggle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51