Punker Notes [Original Novel]

in #fiction6 years ago

punker.png

Part Two: Road Trip


Note # 11

Me, Jenkins and my Uncle Monroe sit in his spacious, almost luxurious house. Monroe, one of my dad’s brothers, is a construction plumber who has worked his way well out of the white trash world up into the middle class. The place is about a ten-minute walk from my Aunt Louise’s. We’re watching a Detroit Lions pre-season game downing Pabst-Blue Ribbon and eating pizza.

“You a Rams fan now that ya live in California, Jackie?” my uncle asks.

“No...!” I almost yell, passionately. “I hate the Rams, and all California teams... Lions are still my favorite team.”

“Hey...! Heard ya crashed yer car goin’ two trackin’! ” Monroe bursts into laughter and me and Jenkins can’t help but crack up with him.

“Yeah...! Not really two-trackin’ though...!” I grin. “We were off roadin’...! We’re gonna put our money together and buy somethin’ while we’re here to drive down to New Orleans in.”

“If ya want..., you guys can use my truck ta drive around in while yer here. Hell..., I don’t drive it much anymore.”

My uncle now offers up a pristine 1972 Chevrolet Cheyenne pick-up truck for us two wastoids, who have just wrecked a classic Oldsmobile, to cruise around in.


Photo by CirrosisAguda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78