Writing Contest--Story Prompt, 500 Words $30 SBD Total Prize Pool

in #fiction7 years ago

@originalworks and The Writers’ Block have joined forces to bring you another great writing contest! This one calls for 500 words of your best fiction, so fire up that imagination and get those fingers warmed up. Because 5 – 4 – 3 – 2 – 1…here we go!


First place winner will receive $15 SBD. Second place winner gets $10 SBD. Third place takes home $5 SBD. $30 SBD in all, courtesy of @originalworks.

HEADS UP!

This is my "heads-up" post. The contest won’t officially be open for submissions until 12:01 a.m. on Saturday morning, 10/14/17, and will end at midnight on Sunday, 10/15/17, according to the time zone you live in. I’ll make an additional post just before the submission window opens that will call for links in the comments. Links to entries provided in the comments of this post will be disregarded.

Don’t rush to submit ahead of everyone else. Order of submissions will have no bearing on the judging process. The deadline is somewhat fluid due to the time zone issue. Judging will begin Monday, 10/16/17, and winners will be announced early next week, date dependent on how many entries have to be read and evaluated.





CONTEST PROMPT

Write a 500-word story about a character whose flaws make them a less-than-ideal protagonist, yet they go on to achieve some form of greatness despite being “written off” by everyone who knows them. This is a complex theme, and word count is minimal, so this is quite a challenge. I will be looking for someone who can bring this theme across effectively and efficiently.

TIPS FROM THE JUDGE

I will be the only judge in this contest. And I’m tough. Be forewarned. If you lose me in the opening lines of your submission, I won’t keep reading. In this regard, I have much in common with J.A. Konrath. Read his article HERE about how not to start a story.

In fact, I encourage you to read many of the articles on writing posted at the Writers’ Block website. They can be found HERE. And do yourself a favor. Submit your story to the Fiction Workshop at The Writers’ Block. Let our editors improve your chances of winning. Learn how to find us HERE.

Correct grammar, spelling, and syntax matter to me. The mechanics of the writing matters to me. The execution matters to me. All of these things will factor in the judging, as well as how closely your story fits the prompt. It is also important that you submit an actual story, not an essay or an anecdote. A proper story has a clear beginning, middle, and end. There is a definable arc. Entertain me! Surprise me! If you do, you might just win this contest.

Sort:  

that is a great prompt.

I see you have completely given up on the idea of sleep?
I think I'm going to give this one a go, and see what I can come up with.

You'll notice that you never see me before noon. LOLOL So I do sleep. Just. . .at odd hours.

Can't wait to see your entry!

That's bloody tough in 500 words. Love it. No idea if I'll come up with anything, but great prompt and the constraints. Can't wait to see what them talented people do with this. :-)

I agree with you on that. I think it's tough, too. Have considered giving it a go myself--ineligible to be judged, of course, but just to see what I come up with.

Awesome! I look forward to entering. And you've given me food for thought for the next twenty-four hours, which is great.

I'll be watching for your entry! :-)

So much fun I am missing

And you yourself are being missed, as well. Quite much so.

Thanks for providing all the helpful links. I can use all the writing advice I can get. This seems very challenging, but if I have the time I hope to be able to get my story reviewed and submitted!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 18.87 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @unprovoked. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

I'm a bit scared because you're tough :D

Hey, jump into the workshop with it once it's drafted. Because yeah, I'm tough. But we have the resources to make winners at The Writers' Block. :-)

Congratulations @rhondak , we r much excited to know about it, wonderful job you have done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44