The Witch And Her Curse - Part 5 (Short Story)

in #fiction7 years ago

shutterstock_558614146.jpg

Read Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4

"So is this what happened to you?" - I asked.

"No. It was just the beginning. I was fired from my job after that incident. After that, I went to many homes asking for work, but people who knew about that incident didn't even let me step in their home. I was struggling to find some work, and one day I got one.

This time my job was not to wash clothes but to look after a kid. I got a job of a babysitter. At first, I thought to reject the offer because taking care of a small child is really very hard but when I got to know that their child was 7 years old than I immediately accepted the offer.

I was very happy because this job was easier than the first one and they promised me to give free foods. But as I already said your life is unpredictable. I thought my life would be easier but whatever happened was beyond imagination.

I was doing my job, and everything was going fine. The girl I was babysitting for very adorable. We became friends very fast. She liked me very much. We used to talk for many hours. Her parents both her mother and father used to work far from her house, so she used to stay with me most of the times.

One of my work was to take her to school and bring her back to home from school in time. After coming from school, she used to talk me about how her day spent. She never hides anything from me. She was more comfortable and friendly with me than her parents.

Those were the happiest moments of life. I wish I could bring them back, but past is past.

One day I was playing with her. That they I had to stay with her till midnight because her parents were very late. I told her to sleep, but she was not interested in sleeping that night. She requested me to play hide and sick with her. I told her sleep, but at last, I had to play with her.

We were playing hide and sick. At first, I was the one who told her not to play but trust me I was having more fun than her. That was the happiest moment of my life, but that happiness didn't last long.

It was her turn to hide, and I was counting. When the counting ended, I started searching for her. Her home was big, so I started searching for her in all the rooms. At first I was happy, but later on, when I didn't find her in any room, I started worrying.

After 10 minutes of searching when I didn't get any trace of her I became extremely scared. She was only 7 years old which was more terrifying. At last, I told her to stop the game. I said - 'We have played enough for the day. Now we should stop playing.'

But there was no reply. I was searching for her in every single room but she nowhere in the home. Then suddenly my eyes went towards the main door, and it was open.

That was the moment when my heart was about to explode. We were in a village. The night was not a good time roam outside, and she was only 7. So I rushed outside searching for her. I searched in nearby places but got no results.

So I gathered some people and told them everything. Everybody was searching for her for nobody find her. After some time her parents also came, and when they got to know about it, they nearly fainted.

They called the police. When the police came, they asked me what happened. I told them everything. After that, all the police started searching for her. Her parents were crying and blaming for that. I was sad too because I should have to keep an eye on her but I failed to do my job.

After many hours of struggle, they find her in the nearby jungle. But she was not alive. When we heard that she was dead, we all cried. I was crying whole night. When the police took her body, my heart stopped beating.

Her parents were crying. She was an adorable child. She was known for her nice behaviour with everyone. Her neighbour was also sad for her.

But there was one strange in thing in her dead body that there was not even a single scratch on her body. The police were also confused about her death.

Then suddenly her mom came and grabbed my hand and throw me outside of their home. She told everyone that I am a witch and I killed her daughter. I don't even remember what strange things she told me. Then the owner of that cow which died the day when I went to their home for the first time also joined the mother of the dead girl.

After that incident whatever bad things happened people started to blame me. Then after some years, people started to call me a witch. I can't even come to the road in daytime due to my bad luck.

I think I am really a witch. She died because of me. - Malti said and started to cry.

"You are not a witch. You haven't done anything wrong it was just the bad time nothing else. Now you are with us, and we are not like them. Everything will be fine." - I replied.


Find Out What happened to them in the next part...

Picture Taken From Shutterstock.com

Sort:  

@rejakul Thank you for your work, I invite you to evaluate my work.

I love how you use the words to create more understanding of the characters always keeping the characters essence first as to why they do what they do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19