Sort:  

Love the photo of the vintage rotary phone - perspex? Did that word exist when these phones were the latest, greatest gadget? I missed. And I LOVE the surprise twist at the end. (And the Wheel of Fortune comparison is spot-on. ) You've inspired me to get back to #5minuteFreeWrite!!

That's great Carol, that my post has inspired you. I'll keep my eyes peeled for your freewrite. I haven't done one in ages, this was my first in a while.

Aha - Perspex is a brand name. Might explain why I never heard it back in the day. (I'm so old, I remember when our new rotary phone was mounted on the kitchen wall!)
Poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), also known as acrylic or acrylic glass as well as by the trade names Crylux, Plexiglas, Acrylite, Lucite, and Perspex among several others ...is a transparent thermoplastic often used in sheet form as a lightweight or shatter-resistant alternative to glass. The same material can be used as a casting resin, in inks and coatings, and has many other uses. (wikipedia)
Bakelite is the word we grew up with. The Bakelite telephone 1931 - Ericsson
https://www.ericsson.com/en/about-us/.../the-telephones/the-bakelite-telephone-1931
When Ericsson's Bakelite telephone was first distributed world-wide in the 1930s....

Raj, you set me off on a trip down Memory Lane. That ringtone! Cell phones will never have the necessary acoustics to duplicate it:

I grew up with a phone like this as well Carol. It was white and always caked in dust. The ring in this video is exactly what I was thinking about in describing it in this story. Thanks for the trip down memory lane ;-)

Ouch, looks like a bit of a sticky situation for Peter….very clever!
It’s your friendly neighbourhood prompt delivery technician here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-244-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wood

Thanks deirdyweirdy. Yes, Peter has quite the quandary ahead of him ;-)

This is a FANTASTIC story! How on earth did you accomplish so much with so few words? Wonderful job!

Thanks @byn. Yeah, I think I always try to remember what my old uni tutor said about flash fiction. Character development/set the scene/plot twist. He said this is all you have time for with flash fiction and if you can get some type of symbolism or literary device in as well you'll be pushing it with the word constraints. It should be a snippet/slice of life, which at the same time tells a brief story. This is all coming from what I can remember listening to at the short story lectures lol
Thanks for your comment :-)

You've been featured in today's Freewrite Favorites Keep up the great writing and thank you so much for being a part of our community! @byn

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16