Fiery Bond EP 1

in #fiction6 years ago

Video Credit

Diana stood by the balcony overlooking the lush valleys below. Salt breeze from the sea whistled past her ears, ruffling her dirty blonde hair and rustling her white rosy gown. She was staring out to sea, eyes fixated on a buoy struggling in the waves.

Vivian stood in the archway of the balcony, watching her quietly. She could only see a side of Diana’s face but her features were calm, shoulders hung low, her lips and brows relaxed in indifference, enjoying her solitude. She looked so different, a contrast to the snooty woman Vivian had met a day ago, brows furrowed, lips pursed, forehead wrinkled, shoulders raised high and a constant scowl on her face.

Vivian took a step, the hard sole of her shoe struck the marbled floor and alerted Diana. She spun swiftly and their eyes met, a masked expression registered in Diana’s eyes and she briskly turned back to the sea. Vivian took a calming breath, readying herself for the battle of words that would ensue.

“Diana.” Vivian said as she positioned herself next to the older woman. Diana did not respond but they both remained silent, staring out into the sea.
“I wondered what I would wear to see the woman that’s banging my husband behind my back. I also hoped you would be blonde, he has a thing for blondes.” Diana sputtered, eyes glazed and set on the horizon, features relaxed as if she was wrapped in an epiphany of truth.

“I did not know he was married.” Vivian muttered.
“You also did not know he had a thing for rich women. His demographic of prey. I see you in the news down at south Africa. You lost fifty percent of hard-earned wealth.” Diana chuckled, her tired features lit up and for a moment, she looked ten years younger.
“He said we were going to build a life together.” Vivian hissed and the tears blurred her vision.
“Well, I guess that’s dashed on the rocks now. Isn’t it?” a subtle smile played on Diana’s lips.
Vivian was sullen. Her chest was heavy with hate and resentment ran in her veins, choking her, knotting her insides. “Well, you’re in the news here at Chicago. Lost half your net-worth to him.”

Vivian watched the older woman stiffen and close her eyes and the tirade of emotions that played on her face.
“The bastard.” The label rolled off her lips slowly as she drawled on each syllable, her tone underlined with repulse and resentment.
“You hate him too.” Vivian said unconscious of the face-splitting grin on her face, her body invigorated with the realization of the connection they shared. They both turned and held a gaze, an unspoken message passed between them.

“You know, I thought I had finally found something real when I found him. I thought our bond was ethereal and profound. We were two souls searching for something bigger than ourselves, sunset walks on the beach, sky diving off the Himalayas, nature retreats in the amazons and cliff-diving at the falls. I thought we were soulmates, drawn to each other by a pull we could not suffice, I thought…” The older woman’s tone wavered and she choked on her sorrow.
“Do you know what he said to me the day he asked me for a divorce?” The question was rhetoric but Vivian could not resist the urge to ask what.
“Diana, your tenure has ended.” Diana wheezed, clutching the railing of the balcony to keep her from falling but that was still not enough. Her knees buckled under her but Vivian caught her, unable to keep her up, both women crumpled to floor with Vivian cradling Diana.

“Diana, I met him on the day of my divorce. I was broken that day and I could not see the colors of life anymore, having been drained emotionally and physically by my first love. He was my supporting crutch through it all. The pain is as clear as day in my head. I remember the long late-night showers crying my eyes out, the early morning walks looking for some meaning, any meaning to hold on to, the disorientation from self-medicating, till the time I wanted to commit suicide. He was like my rock of refuge…until the time he and I decided to start building again eight months later and he carted away my fortune. Money I had blindly handed to him.” Vivian did not cry, she boiled in fury, the rims under her eyes hinted at her late-night sessions with tears and sorrows had ended, replaced by sleepless nights of sinister plotting.

Diana regained her strength and pulled herself into sitting position.
“You know, I find watching the waves crash against the red creeks below calming. It reminds me of my past, my life and how I got here. I’ve always felt like a buoy caught out in sea, tossing about in the waves, dipping below and surfacing after each torrent, a survivor.” Diana stopped and the two women turned to each other as if on subtle impulse.

“I’ve always emerged a survivor, Vivian, in all situations and this is no different. I survived Jake Greene. He may think he had the upper-hand but he forgot something. It’s hard to live with someone ten years and not know their dirty secrets. He was merely a wounded bird caught out in sea, taking refuge on one of my metallic frames. The man needed me as much as he needed the air he breath.” Diana said soothingly, surprisingly relaxed as if foreseeing the end of her predicament.
“I don’t know what you’re planning Diana but I want in.” Vivian cooed.
“What I am planning? Simple, I want him dead. I want to gut him with my own hands” Diana seethed,
“And watch him drift in and out of consciousness.” Vivian added.

In the following silence, the women continued watching the waves, holding each other in the realization of the connection they shared in one common interest.

“I think we just became best of friends. I am going in now, to a pleasant meal of caviar stuffed lobster pudding. Would you care to join me?” Diana invited.
“Why thank you. I wouldn’t be anywhere else.” Vivian giggled.

eyes-in-dark-facebook-cover.jpg

DQmQPRBLmhWag36FBxYVNJNKZRUsBbpPeZvm7FVixnWVXhk_1680x8400.png

Hello friends,

This series i'm about to do actually started as a freewrite. It was null and void when i was done with it and i wanted to discard it but ALAS! @raj808 thought it could be more! He pointed me in the direction of a plot and so i am taking his challenge up!
I do hope you like this piece!
let me know what you think please...

steem.png

DQmTDLNSwrxM4R85rA2qsR18pugncTy5FDhVf5gJBoW5vLm.gif

DQmUdavaBK1fNtPejn7f28MZJA6rGsmuMWmGzGBsqigNr5K.png

Sort:  

It seems "johnny" boy is a deadly player aye? Nice story, I love the way you described the emotions. and how the two character reconciled their differences. Good read :-)

reflecting on the happenings in real life, it seems that, in some cases, hypergamy is not exclusive to women alone.

Vivian's story,can't wait to see how this goes.
The best books are always those that the authors almost discarded, but were held back by something or someone.
This is a nice one dear,I can't wait for the next episode.

You got me intrigued. I am looking forward to reading the following episode.

Hi @rachelrick. I see you rolled with the suggestions I gave that this could be developed into a longer plot. I'm sorry I didn't answer on discord, I go days without being on there sometimes. This story is setting up to be an intriguing read. I can't wait to see where you take it. Keep on writing Rach :-)

¡El bastardo arruinado! Gracias por compartir... me quede muda.@rachelrick. disfruté todo. Hasta esas caras.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rachelrick from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @rachelrick! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86