Ether Rabbit - Chapter 5 - Re-branded

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)


Chapter 5, Re-branded  

The stranger standing with my boss ended up being my new boss. Federal Avenue Paper Supplies had been purchased by another small company called Optic Inventory Logistics and was being re-branded as Federal Avenue Inventory Supply. All of these things I could care less about considering this would be my last week regardless and they could call it Sunshine Fantastic as far as I was concerned. Still, I kept with social responsibility and feigned a reluctant and heart-felt farewell to my previous boss as I turned in my resignation to my new one later that day.  

I was given until the end of the week to finish up my remaining responsibilities. As it was now Friday, this being my final day with the company, I came to work and naturally accomplished none of these responsibilities. I spent the day cleaning out the various wrappers and empty cans from several of my desk drawers, shaking the hands of random co-workers, and stealing a box of USB drives from the supply closet. All in a final day’s work as they say.  

At a few minutes before 5 p.m. I threw my backpack over my shoulder and headed out of the building for the last time, dropping my access badge at the reception desk as I hurriedly departed Federal-whatever-the-hell for the last time. As I walked down the street to my bus stop I began to think of what I was about to get myself in to the following Monday.  

I had received an email from a Stephanie Dukes on Tuesday containing an assortment of payroll forms as well as an official Welcome Letter from Ling Logistics. The letter was just a simple pre-made template addressing no one in particular, but contained the address and phone number of the location at the bottom. The office was located off of Burnside Road, within walking distance of my apartment and I was happy to realize this would mean less time on the city bus.  

Everything seemed to be going in a positive direction for me despite my confirmation that I was indeed in a lesser state of sanity. Once the bus arrived, I stepped inside and found a seat near the front as the familiar tang of faded urine was less thick towards the swinging doors. I swiped open my phone and resolved myself to researching a bit around the subject of what responsibilities a cryptocurrency manager could expect—considering I would be one in under 72 hours.  

That’s when I was grabbed suddenly from behind.  

Back to Chapter 4 | Read Chapter 6

 Ether Rabbit is a living story I am authoring  exclusively on Steemit. If the story shows support, I will continue it.  If support goes away, the story ends. I'll let the community decide. @rabbt 

Sort:  

I am enjoying this. I hope you keep going with it.
Saw you on discord earlier.

Yep you did. Followed and upvoted!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rabbt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74