Ether Rabbit - Chapter 4 - Case of the Monday's

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Chapter 4, Case of the Monday's

The email turned out to be an advertisement, a small piece of cyber junk that we all suffer from time to time, this on suggesting that I purchase airline tickets right away at amazing savings. I deleted the message and sent the data back into obscurity.

The rest of my weekend was spent in an obscurity of my own as I went about my ritual habits of gaming, visiting street-vendor stalls, and placating to sweet Coria. She was in what I considered a pretty decent mood this weekend, away visiting a friend from college, and I was only subjected to brief moments of intense texting. I decided not to stoke the fire and enjoy the calm, failing to mention that I would soon be starting new work, something I wasn't even completely clear on anyway.

It was Monday morning, as I was sitting on the city bus on my way to work, that I realized I still needed to inform my current employer of my impending departure only one Monday away. I would take the most direct route and send my boss an email. I realized this wasn't the most respected way to resign one's service from an employer, but I figured it would work well enough. I rarely saw or spoke to my boss and didn't really have much in the way of a feeling of loyalty to the simple office job.

I departed the warm urine-scented confines of the bus and walked up the street to the small office park that housed my current employer, Federal Avenue Paper Supplies. The company was what the business world would consider small business. The location I worked at was the only location and I estimated that there were probably no more than thirty employees. Most of these employees worked in the small warehouse attached around the side of the office park where the custom made-to-order shipping supplies that we produced would be prepared and loaded for delivery.

The rest of us worked in the cluster of small offices in front of the building where the main entrance is located, of these ten or so employees I could probably only name four. The office building was deathly quiet most of the time, with all of us sequestered in our own offices performing our various tasks, the quiet only interrupted by the occasional digital tones of the business phones ringing.

I stepped through the entrance and loitered near the vending machines in the main hallway. I had developed a serious caffeine habit in the last few months that I had worked here, finding it necessary to pump myself full of sugary drink in order to stay alert during the course of my workday, as boredom and quiet had a way of making one fall asleep in their rolling chair. I selected an excessively large Red Bull as my poison of the day and walked toward my office, nodding to a woman that passed me by without any idea of what her name was despite seeing her rather often.

I opened my office door to find my boss was already waiting for me along with a man I had never seen before.

Back to Chapter 3 | Read Chapter 5

rabbt.jpg

Ether Rabbit is a living story I am authoring exclusively on Steemit. If the story shows support, I will continue it. If support goes away, the story ends. I'll let the community decide. @rabbt

Sort:  

Interesting story :-)

You might be interested in a competition in running

https://steemit.com/writing/@scottish01/steemit-novel--the-next-paragraph---competition---win-some-sbd-and-get-those-creative-juices-flowing-1498925304-3760257

Please stop by, I'd love to see you there :-)

Follow the rabbt :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rabbt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61670.63
ETH 3448.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51