Story no. 2: Socks

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180225_114415_2.jpg

Socks

A conspiracy theory



“Hello...is this on?“

Taps microphone.

“OK. For my show-and-tell I want to talk to you about a serious problem. Maybe you are asking yourself what does a six-year-old know about problems. Well, I do know stuff because I am smart that way. Does your mom make you to pair up socks? Mine does. Be fair now, did you all notice that socks are going poof? When was the last time you have found that second Spider Man sock? Listen to me!”

Looks intently everyone in the eyes.

“You will never find it. It’s gone. Your washing machine is eating them! Just look at what comes out the hose. It’s lint, so much lint. Those are the remains from the chewed socks. The washing machines makers don’t want you to know all of this because you will not buy them anymore. Have you notice that retailers push for bigger and bigger washing machines? And then you will have to buy some kind of cleaning powder for the insides of the machine. That’s because the appliance has tummy aches from all the socks it ate and the powder makes it better. The appliance retailer is in this with the socks makers so you could buy more and more. You don’t want to have unmatching socks, so you will have to buy more with every laundry day. Also, maybe you have noticed that mostly colorful socks are missing, those white boring ones are left alone. It is because colorful ones are tastier, like eating candy. You would not want to eat white candy. “

Raises his fist into the air

“Let’s put an end to this! You have the power. Join me and never wash your socks again!”

Cheers and a roar of victory came from the classroom


This in my first entry in the Constrained Writing Contest, edition #19.


All content, text and photos, is my own original work.

Sort:  

This is awesome! The whole time I imagined this six-year-old in front of a huge crowd, talking about sneaky appliances stealing socks. Also I imagined the kid to have a very serious face and voice while doing so. Nice read, made me smile! Thanks! :)

Haha! Thank you so much! Really glad you liked it. It seems I managed to convey to you the picture that I wanted.

Excellent storytelling ! You have a nice stile of describing the moment in a very funny way. You have put a smile on my day ! Thanks !

I deeply appreciate your comment, thank you! I'm happy I made you smile. Mission accomplished!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pink-coco from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This was an awesome read! :D
Though I sincerely hope... you will wash your socks still, even if it means you someday need to buy an extra pair - or two. :3

Thank you very much for your entry! Very clever, and very humorous! Very cool! :D

Thank you, Svashta! It was a pleasure to be a part of your contest.
I do wash them so I can buy new ones when they dissapear and have crazy multicolored socks to enjoy 😁

See, what I do is I cheat the system! I buy black-only socks in bulk - all the same. Like 10 pairs... And then when one goes missing, there's just one extra you leave hangin' in the drawer. When another one gets eaten by the steel monster, you have yourself a "new" pair! ;P
Ah, the lifehacks!
The perks of wearing all black. All the time.

Your washing machine might have lost its appetite from all those black socks.
That's a cool strategy but I can't give up colors.

I, on the other hand, have a hard time wearing anything but black. Just makes decisions so much easier. Nothing to be careful about, not need to care much what I wear, ... It's just.. easy. :p

The choice of limited choices does seem easy.

It's liberating! You could do any color I guess... but I think black is the most neutral and just goes well with every occasion. :3

Great stuff. I believe this kid, it is true. He opened my eyes

Kids these days, right?

Glad you liked the text! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60277.41
ETH 3351.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42