You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Bulwark's Shadow" - A Novel in Progress via Steemit (Part I, Chapter 4)

in #fiction7 years ago

Wow, you're moving fast with posting chapters. Wanted to read this one but then found out I was already two chapters behind. Are you going to continue posting chapters at this rate? I can really relate to your desire to get feedback, though from what i've seen so far, you need it much less than I do for my work. I'll print out the chapters and see if there are some nits for me to pick on my train ride home.

By the way, I'm now using a lottery construct for soliciting feedback on my work. Not getting feedback from many people, but the few that do provide me with feedback provide very good and very usefull comments. Maybe a similar construct might be helpfull for you.

Sort:  

well, i've got some 217 pages of it already written as it was my undergraduate thesis (back in 2009), so it's easy to post the chapters. i'm nowhere close to this prolific in real life while also holding down a day job. i'll probably post up 3 chapters a day this week.

as far as feedback goes, i'm less concerned with grammar and syntax and more concerned with the narrative being cliche in parts. the story needs fleshing out/expansion/fattening up in many places. but again, i'm also super into having my stuff critiqued; i've always preferred knowing what's not working vs. what is. i'm a literary masochist, i suppose.

what is this lottery construct you speak of?

The story I am working on is divided up into five main parts of six to nine chapters each. Every month I run a set of connected lotteries with a small price ($1.5 to $2.0 SBD per chapter) and a larger price ($10.0) for the main part as a whole. This was last months lottery and this is the currently running one that will have its winners drawn on the 1st next month, when I'll create a new post for a lottery for part three of the story.

I made a little bot @croupierbot for running these lotteries that everyone is welcome to invoke. Basically every upvote the page owner does on first level comments turns into a lottery ticket when @croupierbot is called in to run a lottery draw, using the blockchain to provide indisputable proof of being inpartial in the drawing of the winner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50