Unwind

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

He was sitting in the corner almost directly in my line of sight, if I stared ahead of me he would be gone, but this was a formal event, why was he dressed so plainly ontop of that it looked like no one bothered to take note.

I shrugged and went back to half-listening to the tables chatter, it was the usual mixture of gossip, personal anecdotes and work banter. None of it was nearly as interesting as the seemingly unnoticed and yet completely out of place man in the corner.

     "Did you hear about Jenny? Her daughter had a miscarriage, and oh she was so excited for her first grandchild." The CEO's secretary asks and tells me, as she places her hand on my arm as though I am the one that needs consoling.

I fain concern replying to the wretched old woman "Oh, no. that is very unfortunate. I do hope she took some time off to be with her family. I did not see any leave applications on my desk, maybe I missed them."

As much as I disliked the chatty secretary I have always respected how cautious she was of me. She tended to pick up on my cold disregard for anything related to "compassionate leave" as they would have to tick that box when providing me with their leave application. Although I am not able to deny them in many cases I can however considerably shorten the leave period.

I don't think that makes me a bad guy, I am just trying to teach them that work is work and family is well at home, they do not provide these people with anything if anything they are a cost.

To be fair, I have a pet and when times were tough I fed my kitty instead of myself. People are different though, and they do not deserve the same level of compassion as an animal. That is not to say they deserve cruelty. There he is.

I somehow lost track of the man while the lady so rudely told me her little bit of gossip and lead me down the inevitable maze of thought. I have not seen a waiter approach him, maybe he got a drink at the bar.

Very strange I think, I wonder why he perplexes me so much.




Getting up to head to the bathroom I am happy to see that his table is right on the way.

     "Hi, I am Mike, how are you tonight?" I try to sound casual and friendly. This is a work conference after all and we all are supposed to know each other if even just through recognition. Many are even meeting for the first time, with the inclusion of some satellite branches joining head-office this year.

     "Tim." He says looking up for a brief moment before going back to surveying the crowd. I am not one to be given the cold shoulder, because firstly that is what I do and secondly I wanted to know what I wanted to know. "Which branch are you from?" I asked ignoring his silent plea to be left alone.

     "I am not from any branch. Hey, could you do me a favour and get me another whisky? I snagged this one from the table over there because the help here seems to not want to serve me on account of me not being invited." He said, in a tone that clearly means do what I ask or fuck off.

So I did what he asked and sat down opposite him. He ignored me for a good minute before asking what I did for the company and I told him I work in human resources at which he snorted a bit of his whisky back in the glass.

     "Well that sounds absolutely horrible, how about another whisky?" He announced slamming the tumbler down. "Sure, how about I get us a bottle," I said thoroughly entertained. This man gets it. It is absolutely horrible. He nods in agreement as I leave the table amused with this person I have just met.

That is the thing about me, it is not that I dislike everyone and everything so much that I reject any and all connection. Sometimes, I welcome the distraction and over the years I have learnt not to expect anything else. No years of friendship or unbreakable ties, just moments of something different. "An honest laugh will always fade." popped into my thoughts, and with a smile, I concur. "Bartender, please give me a bottle of Jameson and a bucket of ice. Oh, and a bottle of water to start."








Photo by Vova Krasilnikov from Pexels

I think that is a good ending for today, I considered highjacking some of the writing prompts on steem and just not entering the contests but then I might have weird interaction with people and that is just unnecessary. Instead, I scrolled through pexels and the mixtape image came up, it is a really cool image. I added the text but those were just the first ones that came to mind I think the image can lend itself to many different stories, particularly those of an emotional nature.

I do have a sense of where this is going now but I will have to see whether I care to keep writing, the thing is that it is just a story and in the end whether a story gets told or not it really does not matter. This is an exercise in passing time.

Sort:  

I never really got my head around Human Resources, it’s just a step up from feline litter or bovine pats. Great story - I’ll take the Jameson with no ice - pretty sure this is on cool down but will try @tipu curate

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha yes I had to quickly google HR job description and decided I would avoid saying anything too specific apart from the leave forms which I was happy to see is in their job description. It does seem to be a general term for admin / training though. I do assume it is a soulless job and he could just as well be in PR then. Thanx for the tipu and resteem.

cuddle_cuddleblanket_teddy.png

Nothing is as interesting as a misplaced person, words that have nothing to do with what has been said or a story that raises questions.
!DERANGED

Haha yeah, words that have nothing to do with what is being said, I like that approach it is always fun and a signal to others to move on with the topic.

Well you may continue - I am intrigued - I like people like that. And I like your writing

Thanx, I did think that I added the 4 words to the cover so maybe I will try to fill those.

In one of my previous companies, the HR team had a bit of a bad reputation, so much so they acquired the nickname Human Remains, rather than Human Resources. Definitely a bottle of whiskey needed after an encounter with them!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if that encouraged them to live up to the name even more, what if you called them the toothless puppies? :)

Would they have brought puppies in if we called them that? 😁 hey, I'd rather have had puppies in that department than whatever they called themselves haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi penderis,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

deranged You just received DERANGED @penderis Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Hello @penderis, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @penderis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello Hello!

I congratulate you on the use of words in such a special way, you are a great writer ♡

Greetings from Venezuela

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83