You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Short Story - Where Do People Go When They Die

in #fiction7 years ago

Many ancient languages had two words for what in most modern languages there is only the one, ie. to "die"

One of the words had a meaning something like "die like a dog"
The other had a meaning something like "die like a man"

Sort:  

I didn't know about other languages, but in greek we do have separate verbs for that, the one πεθαίνω is die for humans and the other one ψοφάω is die for animals and also used when talking in a disrespectful way of someone's death.

I knew there must have been a reason I came to Greece to die :-)

Although I suspect that modern Greek has lost some of the original sense of the difference in meaning of the two verbs.

"I knew there must have been a reason I came to Greece to die " Hey, let's not speak like that.

We have lost a lot from our language unfortunately, but this is another loooong topic.
I'll leave this one here, I've been listening to it for about half an hour on repeat, it's one of my favorites and fits perfectly for the "small" hours (as we call the hours after midnight) and endless dreaming with our eyes open...

I plan to grow old first! LOL

That's the spirit! :D

Dieing like a man!

Strong moment! He reminded me of my grandmother's final moments (at least the moments she was conscious). They bear the same ascetic expression. She was a really pious woman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44