You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Locked Room (Short Fiction)

in #fiction7 years ago

Your first paragraph is a bomb (in a good way) The flow of description is perfect and exactly how I like it. Bittersweet. It makes me yearn for the purity that may come later. I think when we get older, we call it growing up. Getting used to the darkness in the world. We resign ourselves to it, cause its easier than fighting against it, swimming up stream.

Then we focus on our childhood, since that is the only time we can compare that didn't have the stain. Except the darkness is happy with that too, it wants us to focus on the past and get lost in it. It'll do anything it can to keep us from fighting in the present and future. A vicious trap designed for all mankind. I enjoyed the piece @naquoya , well done as always! Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you, I'm glad the hook worked. It's a very hard part of the story to get just right. How to start? What words, what effect, what mood, and where to lead it? I think if you can get the opening hook right then the rest of the story thanks you by flowing so much better.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this story. I really enjoy reading other people's perspective, and what they get from the words I have written.

Darkness has a place in a lot of what I write, but i try (or hope I do) to soften it, whether stylistically, or with other layers of concepts. Life is multi dimensional, to me at least, with all sorts and degrees of light and shade. I'm just looking (as an author) for that soft spot that helps it start to make sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70