You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End of the World - Part 2 (Short Fiction - Dark/Surreal SciFi)

in #fiction7 years ago

Your internal train of thought writing for the main characters is quite well done. Its hard to put yourself in the shoes of another's mental flow, but you are pulling it off. I think my favorite character this chapter is the depressed girl that didn't know she wasn't depressed anymore. This is true to so many people. We get in the habit of negativity (sin?). Even when we are free of it, we still assume it has its hold on us still. I guess that's the great lie of sin. Makes you think you still have it when its already gone.

Sort:  

I'm sorry, I missed your comment. A great comment without a reply irks me, and here I was doing just that!

You have an interesting take on the Girl Who Used to be Depressed and its relation to sin (given how central that is to the theme of this piece). You very well may be correct. The story flowed with very little conscious or deliberate construction (welcome to my subconscious,lol). So yes it does fit. Also, I guess for me looking at it now, I see someone who is trapped in other people's labels and definitions, and ways of being. Society (the city) controlling her inner thoughts and moods. And sin is another way of saying this, as it is erroneous living, and thought.

Thank you for the complimentary feedback, and for commenting. It's always appreciated.

Don't worry about missing a comment here and there from me :P I completely understand, life keeps distracting me as well. Or perhaps steemit is distracting me from life, who knows? "Erroneous living", yes. I think most of us have been trapped in the labels of society at some point or another. When our self confidence is so low, it's easier to believe the labels given us. At least, until that becomes too difficult and we are finally forced to make our own labels. Thanks for the reply!

Cool, thanks for your understanding. I hate killing a conversation dead by not responding. The Girl character in the story came out of people I have known, and even myself to a degree, who appear to wear their depression, or dark mood like a badge of honour. I am referring only to specific people, not depression in general. I have noticed some people unwilling to let go of what has already let go of them. So I guess I was asking why? What's in it for them? Do they not want to be happy? Or is their old ways making them happy, and they can't let go?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61426.96
ETH 3441.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51