The End :: A Fantasy Short Story

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)







(story preview only)


Title image by @negativer made in Canva

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Amazing story, @negativer. I grieve for Ariana and her mother, and Doggo and Dee. It has been a wonderful and sorrowful journey, seeing this story in its metamorphosis into this beautiful final form.

Thank you so much @jayna. Maybe I can do some kind of followup part 2 where at least some measure of redemption is offered. Thanks for your help on the edits and reads!

Was thinking as I read through this that Arianna would make a great character in a series that starts with this story. Awesome, awesome work. Loved every word, even the one that was missing.

now you have to find it.

Dangit Jon. Tell me where.

The two men in the back insert word here been speaking to each other quietly

Oh, those guys. Doing unspeakable things in the back without proper words.

Thx for noting it. A bazillion edits, and still something sneaks through.

Awesome work, still. I've seen so many people take what could be their greatest blessing and mistaking it for a burden, they destroy it. I love this story.

This story still cuts deep. So sad but such a good story!

Thanks! And thank you for the help on edits/reads!

Even though I read this in the queue, it still leaves me sad and empty :(
Great piece of writing, Neg.

Thanks @johnkingwriter. To some extent, I'm happy I was able to make you feel sad.

Yep, much better ending... but ouch, my heartstrings.

Your 'I want a better ending' on my first version is what took me here, on revision 4. Much thanks for that direction. It's easy to be complacent, comfortable with 'something' until someone comes along and says 'it can be better.'

Thank you!

Aw shucks. Thank you for writing it and for the hard work of editing it. Maybe not everyone will not realize how much work went into this piece. You not only used your prodigious talent, you also rolled up your sleeves and polished and it shows.

Oh, my... Nic said I should read this a while ago. Now I know why. This is wonderful, and so sad, and frustrating. And lovely.

Thank you @anikekirsten! I'm glad you had a chance to read it, since I enjoyed your words and thoughts on it on Discord afterwards :)

It's out! And it's horrifying but beautiful!
I'm glad I could contribute a small bit to this story. You rock Neg!

Yes! Thank you for your edits (on a couple different occasions!)

Sure thing! It feels like it was in the queue for forever!

A very curious and original tale, Negativer. Very well written and effective. I felt the grief of Ariana's loss.

Thanks for reading! :)

Trust me ... it wasn't a problem:)

Woohooo, look st you getting curied! Congratulations 🎊🎉

Grieving right now with Ariana. Quite a sad ending. If only she had waited a little longer.
This story is beautifully sad :(.

Thanks much for reading!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 20 SBD worth and should receive 48 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72