You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nine Eleven

in #fiction7 years ago

And life goes on.

I finally saw this story and had a chance to read it, and of course it gave me flashbacks to when I was at work, drinking coffee, and watching cnn.com when it happened,. I was glad that it wasn't me, then began wondering who I knew in the area that might be affected by this, and how it would affect me. Selfish thoughts mixed in with surprise and relief and what-the-hells.

Great story.

Sort:  

Thank you for reading the story, @negativer! I have been feeling really weird about it ever since I posted this. It explores all the things you mentioned—the self-absorption we very humanly experience during tragedies, and the desire not to be personally impacted, or relief when we realize the impact is several levels removed from us. These are the feelings we may not even be aware of, or if we are, we certainly are not proud of them. But I found myself not liking this protagonist much, even though she represents one of my memories of myself and what I felt and experienced at the time. It’s an almost entirely fictionalized version, of course, but it still feels eerily revealing. Does that ever happen to you with your characters?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43