You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A walk in the forest: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago

Having been born and (mostly) raised in Wisconsin, bears are a real thing. I've seen way too many images of people 'mauled by bears' to completely shrug it off mentally. Whenever I'm out in the woods/forest/nature I try to imagine how far it is to the nearest safe place (my truck or my camper or a tree I can climb). I doubt I'd make it...but at least it makes me feel prepared.

I agree that a lot of writing is about working through the things that you're afraid of, or worry about, or have caused you pain in the past. It's essentially the equivalent of a diary/journal, but hopefully with a proper character arc :)

Sort:  

You have a smart approach! That sounds like a good idea, to keep aware of your surroundings in case you need to get away quickly. (But yeah, bears are fast. And they climb trees. So it could be an exercise in futility.)

Painful, disturbing experiences and fears are excellent fodder for writing, even though sometimes it can be difficult to relive them or focus on them. I had never thought of that--a journal with a proper character arc! That's good. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29