You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Heart's a Mess (Short Story - Horror)

in #fiction7 years ago

I worked on this one longer than most. For a short piece it consumed more of my attention than normal. Put it aside, then return to it. More for the language of it. It does have a certain evocative language, which I wanted for the haunting aspect of it, and the atmosphere it creates.

The story itself came to me, mostly, in one setting. But it wasn't quite right. I tinkered with it, until I was happy with it. But it was the language that took most of my attention. Keeping it dark, haunting, yet evocative. And quick paced, given it's short length.

It's interesting with this piece, because I actually went through more self doubt with this one than normal. Usually I post a story and don't get too self conscious about it. But I had to tinker with this one a lot more than usual. But I think the theme and language called for something special. I hope I have delivered. Feedback tells me I have, which I appreciate.

Sort:  

Yeah, that some kind of irony, huh? I found short pieces more work than the usual, too. But, the time you spent on this one really shows. It was so masterfully crafted, and I just know that you were meticulous in the language and tone you used.

I guess you could say that the shadow was gripping you as you wrote this. That fear and self-doubt translated well, and worked to your advantage. Every experience lent itself to elevating this piece to its normal heights.

It's so interesting reading the story now and reflecting on it. Having written the piece I logically should know a thing or two about it, but like you say, the shadow had a grip as I wrote it. This is a very true statement, in a way. I can see how the story is a reflection of the battle between the heart and one's shadow. Between opening up and being authentic, or slithering back into the unconscious world ruled by one's shadow.

I had a vague notion of where I was going when I wrote the first word. That flowed as the story developed. Then polishing, and looking at exact word choices showed something beyond that. I do like the end product.

Seems so weird now as I was 50/50 on even posting this one. Perhaps it felt too personal, like if it wasn't well received it would have cut deep. Strange really. But that's my shadow battle at work there, isn't it?

Things always flow in circular patterns for me, and my writing :)

Yeah, I know how you feel. The shadow pulls strongly some times. But, I guess it's an indication that you're on to something good. I've learned that however your work is received, you putting it out there is cathartic all to itself. We're our harshest critics, so don't trust what your shadow says.

You constantly put out great work, and I don't know if you'll ever miss a mark from here on out. You've found your groove, and you're riding it like a champ! Just be yourself, and I know that your work will be received well :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67