You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unknown – Footnotes to the Craft of Horror in Fiction (1 of 3)

in #fiction7 years ago

This made for very interesting reading. A well crafted horror story is an area of immense interest to me. And pondering on what made it truly effective as a horror story is at the heart of the interest. I have often wondered on this, from a literary point of view, but also from a psychological perspective also. And yes, the Unknown plays such a vital role there. Why can't we just be with what is and feel comfortable with our unknowingness? What is there that we are afraid to look at? And from there we have the seed of the horror, as the author uses words to play on what already exists within our psyche.

Sort:  

Thanks, @naquoya! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Horror in fiction is a fascinating topic. Understanding the inner workings of fear and thinking about how it can be harnessed through writing has always been one of my favorite subject matters! I don't consider myself an expert, but I'll share what little I know through this 3-part series about what makes horror scary. I'll post the following entry very soon!

All best,
Jean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65