You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make More Singaporean Writers

in #fiction7 years ago

And if your early stories are lousy, what about it? Whatever self-inflicted damage you may incur is temporary. People only pay attention to the latest stories you write. The antidote to having poor first stories is to write more, publish more, and drown the garbage with quality stuff.

The more study I do into the market, and into the best way to adapt to it these days, the more I have come to a similar conclusion. It's not the same world it was publishing wise. And like you say, perhaps the old ways still work for some, but they are the outliers.

And 3000 words a day and a full time job is a great output. I'm on about 1500, but I like your work ethic.

Sort:  

Thanks. I'm still studying the market myself, but it's clear that the old ways don't work for newcomers to the industry. But the older ways -- the way of the pulps -- may yet prove to be a successful strategy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51