Art Prompt Writing Contest # 7 | The day we started the final battle to win our future

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)
It dawns on February 25 of the year 2043 in Maracaibo, Venezuela, my hometown and it is a special date, for me, then, today is one more year of the day that my beloved wife and mother of my children accepted me as her boyfriend, and also is the centenary of the birth of George Harrison, one of the personalities of music that has most influenced my life, already close to 75 years of age.


And I get up like so many others that we say come back to fight from within, living in a nest in the north of the city where we have managed to overcome part of the vicissitudes that we ourselves with our constant attacks, as a country and as part of humanity we committed about Mother Earth who finally woke up angry and made it manifest against my city that was devastated by a surprising movement of water that disappeared 15 years ago, half of the city.


Those of us who were at that time in the country, among them myself for fulfilling professional commitments, after having moved to Scotland with my wife and my youngest daughter to have the possibility of visiting more often my son who was in England culminating his Studies in the same university in the my beloved niece completed his doctorate in neurosciences, we could never explain what happened.

Some scientists consider that it was a tsunami, others speak of a tectonic movement that originated in Colombia, which caused the water of Maracaibo Lake to move with inexplicable violence on the coast reaching heights that made it disappear, much of the profile from the city.


Some religious more fanatical, spoke that it was the punishment of God before our ungodly conduct that had taken us during the first 20 years of the 21st century to be an unviable country, the most corrupt, insecure and poor in the world, despite having so many natural resources.
The truth is that that wave destroyed almost every construction and soul that will be 50 kilometers from the point from which the energy that moved the waters emerged.

The city was a pandemonium, drowned, drowned or as a consequence of the event more than a million people and somehow, after the great impact that this unexplained phenomenon produced in the international community, nests were built, autonomous structures from the point from sight of power generation and food production, most of them located at 1,000 meters above sea level, higher than the water mass that changed the life of Maracaibo and the world that May 28, 2028.

Over time, the waters were displaced and the waters returned to their level, but the inhabitants of Maracaibo never occupied those spaces again, as before, except for opportunists who took advantage of the situation to organize tourist tours of the ruins that were emerging.

And, I, with nostalgia and a little morbid, I embarked on one of the amphibious vehicles and I came across this image that I picked up to take to my loved ones, which I presume was written, by some tourist who was, like many others crossing the spaces of the emblematic park located on the banks of the lake, I presume before dying.

Welcome to reality


I wonder, to which reality did you mean? To the indisputable submission to Mother Nature, to the ravages of catastrophes, to the need to experience pain to learn to be humble, or simply to the awareness that the human race is already living its last moments on this planet tired of so much exploitation and we must look for another space to preserve our species before the destination reaches us.
Actually this answer I will never have but I took this concern in the depths of my being and I am not sure to share it, after having reflected on it.

I prefer to think that somehow we can be a little more secure in those highlands that are now my home, among the descendants of one of the oldest civilizations that have populated the planet, a little closer to God, and perhaps a little more far from losing faith recognizing that the end of our time is closer now.

Images Sources

Image One
Image Two
Image Three
Image Four
Image Five
Sort:  

I love how it almost reads like a news article; the District 9 of vague writing prompt pieces!

Thanks! I really appreciate your feedback. I hope get better all the time as The Beatles said in Sgt. Pepper.

This story had a really interesting take on the prompt and some great lines like, " To the indisputable submission to Mother Nature, to the ravages of catastrophes, to the need to experience pain to learn to be humble, or simply to the awareness that the human race is already living its last moments"

Well done and best of luck!

Thanks for your reading @jrhughes. Sometimes I think my writing could be a little bit complex. Feedbacks as yours, give me support to continue my storytelling journey. Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55508.70
ETH 2914.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30