Beware of vamps (An original short story) Part 3 of 5

in #fiction4 years ago

Part 1
Part 2

“Exactly. So why do we keep vamps around? To test the quality of the artificial blood.”

Berman now looks directly at Storsky. “So you, young man, is going to ‘draw vamps’ blood.”

Storsky’s head jerks back but then he smiles, “That’s pretty cool!”


The Walk-Through

Kuhn comes in the interview room, smiles at both Berman and Storsky.

“Can you show this young man around? Take him to the lab and to the barn.”

“Sure George.” He bows to Bergman a little and makes a little nod toward Storsky “Let’s go.”

Kuhn takes Storsky first to the lab, where there are tables with electronic microscopes, large video screen, many flasks, test tubes, and other unfamiliar aggregates, closed cabinets with reactants, refrigerators, and centrifuges.

The Kuhn opens the door to another room goes through the corridor and takes Storsky to another room labeled “Vivarium.”
The door has a magnetic lock.
Kuhn pulls a card from the internal pocket and swipes it to open the door.

Inside the accommodation is a translucent plastic wall from the floor to the ceiling. The wall has three little openings. On both sides of the wall, there are tables and chairs. Behind the plastic glass, in the opposite wall, several doors that apparently lead into individual rooms.

“That’s where we keep the vamps. There are three of them and I will introduce you to all of them. A couple of words of warning. You see this door?” Kuhn pointed to the door inside the vamp accommodation. We open this door only under very specific circumstances in the presence of a special security unit. Vamps are very powerful creatures and can easily overpower any human being and I mean absolutely any. Your karate here”, he curved his mouth in contempt, “is completely useless.”

The coffee shop

Storsky takes a drop of greenish slimy liquid from a test tube and places it under the electronic microscope. He started to work in the Lab recently and isn’t completely up to speed just yet. Plus they dump on him something they usually dump on a newbie - slime drawing. Storsky is glad that the day is over.

Getting out of the building, he goes to the coffee shop that is a couple of streets over. Storsky loves this coffee shop. It is next to a large hair salon and many cute girls stop by to drink coffee, eat a charlotte, and type something on their laptops. A couple of times he ended up flirting. He sits by the window with his cappuccino in a relaxing mood and suddenly notices a look.
He turns his head to the right and his gaze meets with the girl.

“Got damn!” she is so pretty that it is hard to look. Storsky’s natural desire is to turn his head away and pretend that he didn’t even notice her but knows that he couldn’t afford it if he wants a continuation and forces himself to keep the eye contact. “One and two,” he counts in his head. Finally, he turns his head away and takes a deep breath. Stare longer is also wrong. “Strange chick,” Storsky surmises, “she didn’t smile, didn’t look flirty,” he actually can’t mentally describe her look, but he feels intrigued and wants to look at her again. He turns his head toward her and looks. She is a beautiful brunet with a chiseled profile, a sporty body, and a proud look.
She turned her head toward him and this time smiles, but only with her eyes. Storsky springs up and goes toward her. He doesn’t know yet what to say, but he feels that he has to take his chance now.

“Hi,” Storsky keeps a light smirk on his face.

The girl looks at him attentively slightly squinting her eyes.

“Hello, hello… I was waiting when you will finally come by.” Storsky is surprised with such confidence but tries not to show it.
The girl rises, “I was about to leave, but still wanted to give you a chance.”

“That is so nice of you. I certainly appreciate the gesture. Yet, how so, baby?”

The girl is half the head shorter than he but looks into his eyes is without blinking or blushing.

“Life’s too short, cowboy. Too short to play stupid games. And, by the way, don’t call me baby, I hate this. Are you with me? ”

“Yes, No babies. But how should I call you?”

“Call me Morgan. I like you, so far. But don’t screw it up, cowboy. Call me tomorrow at 5 PM. Are we on the same page?”

“Yes. Morgan. And my name is Adam.”

“That’s right. I almost forgot. You must have some sort of name. Let it be Adam.”

“No, really, my name is really Adam.”

“Ok, Adam it is.” And have given Storsky a sudden slight pinch on his cheek, Morgan leaves the café, shaking her cute butt, which made Storsky gasp deeply again.

The phone call

Stepping out of the bar and walking to her car in the parking structure, Morgan receives a phone call. Her face tightens a little and assumes a responsible professional expression of readiness to listen and act.

“Hi, Charlee.”

“No, I don’t think it would be that difficult. You know me. I’m up on my stuff. Have I ever let you down?”

“Big bucks? That is debatable. Should I be a male, you’d probably pay me more for the same work.”


“No? Come on. I know you, the misogynistic pig, you are.”

“I agree, jokes aside. I met him. He is a regular mama’s boy. I am sure I’ll be able to nail this job. A piece of cake.”

“How do I know? I traced all the people who work there. Mostly they are old farts. He is the only one young buck. No, nothing special. ”

“Yeah, don’t worry. I’ll keep you informed.”

The preliminaries

“You were so great! It was the best I ever had in my life!” Adams tilts his head up and smiles into the ceiling. “You are…”, he is looking for a word, “magnificent!”

Morgan rises on her elbow and looks at Storsky, “Yeah, it was good, I admit. But don’t tell me I am magnificent. You are not telling me anything new.“

Adam is silent not knowing what to add.

“But yeah,” she continues stretching like a cat, “It was good enough and I admit you’ve made me interested in you.
What do you do, Adam?”

“Right now? Nothing, I am still in Nirvana.”

“What do you do for a living, silly?” she slaps him lightly on the cheek.

“Oh, I work in a lab.”

“So you are a lab rat.”

“You might say so.”

“What do you actually do?”

“mmm… I draw fluids. Then study them, and write reports.”

“Sounds pretty boring if you ask me.”

“Well, there are some aspects of it that are quite exciting.”

“Yeah, right? What are those?”

“I cannot reveal this. It’s classified information.”

“Classified my butt. Come on, Mr. Bond.”

“It is classified, trust me. Anyhow, why are you so interested?”

“I am a journalist. I am interested in everything.”

‘Ah, one of those vamps,’ Adam smirks but says out loud, “what a cool profession.”

***

“No, darling! I cannot do that! I can lose my job over it!”

“You are such a pussy! Silly little pussy. No one will ever know.”

Morgan gets up from the bed and starts to dress up.

“Where are you going?”

“I’m going where I am going,” Her ton of voice is cold and deliberate, “I’ve just got some chores to do, really.”

“What chores?” Adam grabs her hand and tries to pull her back in bed.

“Come on Adam. Don’t be annoying. That …”, she pushed his hand away, “isn’t going to score you points.”

“Ok, ok. I am not asking you anything.” Storsky rolls to his back and fixes his gaze at the point on the ceiling.

To be continued ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99