Misty Morning - original photograph and flash fictionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction8 years ago

Misty Morning by Meredith Loughran, taken with iPhone 5s on February 7, 2017

This flash fiction piece is inspired by the photograph I took during my morning walk to the bus stop. Enjoy!

Misty Morning

Sleep. It's all I want to do and yet it eludes me.
It's just as well because sleep brings forth memories; memories which the sandman tweaks and molds into futile dreams.

They day you died was the day time stopped. Though my anguish has scabbed over leaving apathetic scar tissue in its wake, I am a walking wound. And today...I'm just walking.

I don't know where I am or how I got here. I don't know where I'm going either. All I can do is move forward because my heart keeps beating and my lungs keep breathing no matter how hard I wish to lay down and die.

It's a misty morning; tiny droplets of water accumulate on my heated cheeks. I see a break in the treeline I've been aimlessly following and spy an open field. The fog hugs the ground like a down comforter and for the first time in a long time my eyes peer up marveling at the pinks, purples and orange sky as the sun breaches the horizon.

The mist sparkles with countless rainbows from the gentle solar light. I feel your presence as the tender breeze twirls my haphazard curls and showers my face in butterfly kisses. I feel a calmness settle into the marrow of my being.

That's all I needed, my love - one more kiss before I said good-bye.
The sun rises a little more burning away the fog and I realize I'm alive... and it's okay.


Photograph taken by Meredith Loughran, February 7, 2017 with iPhone 5s


Public Service Announcement

Educate yourself on what Steemit Witnesses do.

Have a Steemit day!

100% Steem Power by Meredith Loughran Steemit verified merej99, Meredith Loughran

Follow me on Twitter
Join my curation trail on Streemian

Sort:  

@merej99...this is stunning.

Stop working so damn much! We miss you! :)

Thank you @rigaronib
If I didn't actually like my job, I think I'd be dumbing it down and screwing up just to be fired. LOL

I miss all of you too!

Lmao! Well atleast you like it.
We're all looking for more people like you to add to Steemit - unfortunately our type is few and far between.

What @rigaronib said!!
Truly, you painted that scene perfectly. It echoes a fear I have, the way I would feel if I lost my husband, my muse.
Did I mention...what rigaronib said?? xo

That wad lovely. Great to see your name about again :)

Very nice ! Love the photo , glad to see you posting ! Steem on 👍😉

Thank you, Karen! I'm glad to be posting too. LOL I was not going to bed without ONE little post at the very least. How are you doing? How's the job hunt coming along?

Oh im not hunting , just worked my last day on Thursday , got my access code in the mail today for EI , the earliest i can put in my cards is Feb 17th because of the 1 week waiting period ! There wont be work in this town untill spring , its been non stop snowing now for 3 days , and the ground is frozen so no new construction for security sites till it thaws ! Will just blog at home as money will be very tight for awhile now ! Come on steem!!! Go up !! Lol ! Thanks for replying and your concern ! Steem on !👍😉

Love that photo, captured beauty.

Thank you so much @basicshari - and welcome to Steemit! How do you like it so far?

Wonderfully written piece. You really did give the photo justice. Everything just works so well. Fantastic job!

A beautifully reflective piece... captures the mood of that wonderful image perfectly!

As not being inspired by such a photograph, I love how you write with that naturalness you have. A real pleasure to visit your blog.
Great work dear friend @ merej99. Congratulations

I don't know what it was @jlufer, but I cried while writing that last sentence...and strangely I was in a wonderful mood when I wrote it. Thank you for your continued support and love. You are appreciated.

a beautiful piece, mere - you can do one or two of these during the week if you find time - I'm sure incidents at work can inspire you too - keep a notepad or your i-phone handy. You can be our spy and tell us what you see lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41