You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Leaders (Dystopia, Part 3)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Hello. Did you think about Daneel Olivaw when you created Erin character ?
I have another question : my english is a little poor but i noticed you wrote in part one: "The Android extended 'their' hand towards Tristan." And now, i am again confused because you wrote : "a small smile flickered across 'their' face when 'they' recognized Tristan." I think they are mistakes, but can you confirm? Or maybe Erin is a double head Android ? A kind of zaphod beeblebrox...
Most probably i haven't understood anything...
Nevertheless, i like the way you write, and you remind me novels that i read long time ago. 😁

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for your comment! As I don't know who Daneel Olivaw is, Erin has no connection.

And you're technically correct, "they" and "them" is used for multiple people in English - Except for when its used as a "neutral" pronoun, when you don't know if someone is male or female.

For example: I don't know if you're a man or a woman. To avoid getting it wrong, I would say "They left me a nice comment".

Erin is neither male or female, as they are an android that is able to shapeshift (explained in "AIOA", a story that came before). Thus I chose to adress them not as "he" or "she" but as "them".

I hope that clears it up! :)

All right ! Yes that clears it up. I was completely wrong... Thanks to you, i can improve my English.
Daneel Olivaw is a character created by Isaac Asimov in his Fondation series. They are (😎) a robot about 20000 years old... That's why i thought of them when you wrote "Erin had to be very old !".
In fact, in Fondation, daneel is clearly identified as a male, so we can say "he".
And finally, i am also a male. I should write my "introduceyourself"...
Thanks a lot for your explanations :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31