9 Seconds of Freedom, Original Suspense Fiction, Part 42, links to all episodes

in #fiction6 years ago

“Hey, in here,” I said.

I waved them over. They couldn’t be more different. I guess opposites do attract. Fred stopped to look at everything. He smiled broadly. Ben wore sunglasses, and barely acknowledged me. He went straight into the barn.

story continued after chapter links!

If you haven't read earlier chapters, get caught up!

READ PART ONE HERE

READ PART TWO HERE

READ PART THREE

READ PART FOUR

READ PART FIVE

READ PART SIX

READ PART SEVEN

READ PART EIGHT

READ PART NINE

READ PART TEN

READ PART ELEVEN

READ PART TWELVE

READ PART THIRTEEN

READ PART FOURTEEN

READ PART FIFTEEN

READ PART SIXTEEN

READ PART SEVENTEEN

READ PART EIGHTEEN

READ PART NINETEEN

READ PART TWENTY

READ PART TWENTY ONE

READ PART TWENTY-TWO

READ PART TWENTY-THREE

READ PART TWENTY-FOUR

READ PART TWENTY-FIVE

READ PART TWENTY-SIX

READ PART TWENTY-SEVEN

READ PART TWENTY-EIGHT

READ PART TWENTY-NINE

READ PART THIRTY

READ PART THIRTY-ONE

READ PART THIRTY-TWO

READ PART THIRTY-THREE

READ PART THIRTY-FOUR

READ PART THIRTY-FIVE

READ PART THIRTY-SIX

READ PART THIRTY-SEVEN

READ PART THIRTY-EIGHT

READ PART THIRTY NINE

READ PART FORTY

READ PART FORTY-ONE

“So, this is the infamous cage?” Fred asked.

“No, dear, this is the fighting ring,” Ben said. “The Cage was the enclosure at The Farm, out towards the Whippoorwill.”

I couldn’t imagine them in that place. I wondered how welcome they would be.

“Yeah, well, we emptied The Cage,” Leeanne said.

“I know, I was out this morning. There’s a task force going over the whole thing from the OSBI. They called me in to confirm some details,” Ben said.

“We’re so glad you’re safe,” Fred said. “Where have you been?”

I looked at Leeanne.

“We were pretty wiped out after last night, so we stayed over with a cousin up that way,” she said.

Ben walked to the fighting ring. He stepped up into the tunnel leading to the holding pens. Sarah trained the gun on him. Ben paused.

“You’ve got a thorough guard on Hal, I see,” Ben said. “You can lower that, I’m a friend.”

He flashed his badge to Sarah. She didn’t budge.

“He’s okay, Sarah,” Leeanne said. “But, I’d prefer if you just stayed out of that area, Ben. Until this is all settled. I’d rather you not get caught up in anything.”

Ben stepped back. “I’d feel a lot better if the prisoner were in proper custody,” he said.

“Well, he’s not your prisoner,” Leeanne said.

“I see, may I ask why you’re holding him?” Ben asked.

Fred intervened. “Honey, you know how I’m always telling you, you use your FBI voice when it’s not called for? There’s a lot of frazzled nerves in this space. We are all on the same team, right? Pulling rank’s only going to create more tension, don’t you think?”

Ben smiled. “Of course, you’re right, Fred. As usual,” he said.

Leeanne walked over to the door and looked out. “So, what made you come all the way out here?” she asked.

“Well, we were just trying to think of where you might be,” Fred said. “And we got in the car, and this is the first place Ben wanted to try.”

“Really?” Leeanne asked.

I was starting to pick up on the fact that Leeanne didn’t trust them. It hadn’t even occurred to me, but why were they here? I looked over at Ben. He was sitting on one of the bleacher benches looking at his phone.

“Isn’t that right, Ben,” Fred asked.

“Um, sure, yes, you’re right, dear,” Ben said.

“Ben, what’s gotten into you? You’re very distracted. Are you still upset about the Skinner boy? You know he deserves it. You said yourself, when we saw what happened to his brother’s car that it was too bad he wasn’t crushed inside it,” Fred said.

He sat next to his husband and put an arm on his shoulder.

“Officer Skinner is a disgrace to law enforcement,” Ben said.

“Well, I’m sure there’s a perfectly good reason they’re here with him. After all, they couldn’t very well take him to the jail, could they? And look, this place is just made for holding prisoners,” Fred said.

Another vehicle pulled up out front. Leeanne moved to the door.

“Sarah, keep the gun on him,” she said.

I looked out into the darkening night. Mayor Skinner had pulled up, driving the sporty black sedan Hal had used to tail me, what seemed like years ago. She went to the car’s back door and came out with a bundle. A red winter hat poked out from under a small blue quilt, and his tiny feet hung out at the bottom in brown leather shoes.

She walked into the barn, smiling.

Leeanne was holding a second pistol. She pointed it in Mayor Skinner’s direction. Fred stood beside me.

“What’s going on?” he asked.

“Baby exchange,” I said. “Leeanne’s kid, for that big baby in the cage.”

“Now, is that any way to greet your son and his grandmother?” Rita Skinner said.

“Give me my son,” Leeanne said.

“He’s sleeping, you don’t want to disturb him, besides, we have things to discuss he doesn’t need to hear. I kept him safe,” Rita Skinner said. “Now, for your part.”

Her smile was disarming, and that damn cookie aroma. Did that come in a perfume, or what? Leeanne didn’t flinch.

“What do you want, a medal?” Leeanne asked. “When this kid is old enough, I’ll tell him all about how his grandmother tried to kill him, and have his mother arrested for leaving him in a trashcan.”

“Where’s my son?” Rita asked.

“I’m here, mama,” Hal said.

“Are you okay?” Rita asked.

“I’m fine. They don’t have the balls to kill me,” he said.

“If he says anything else, shoot him in the face,” Leeanne said.

“With pleasure,” Sarah said.

“Here’s how this is going to work,” Leeanne said. “Give me your keys.”

Rita hesitated. Leeanne moved the pistol until it almost touched the Mayor’s head.

“Keys, now,” she said.

Rita held the keys out.

“Great, now, you’re going to hand over the baby and we’re taking a little road trip,” Leeanne said.

“Just let my son go,” Rita said.

“Oh, we will, when we’re done with him,” she said. “Hal’s going with us as insurance. When we’re far enough way, we’ll set him loose.”

“That wasn’t the deal,” Mayor Skinner said. She pulled the bundled child back.
“Deal’s changed, you’re not in charge in anymore,” Leeanne said.

She snatched the bundle from Rita Skinner’s arms. As she did, Rita Skinner jumped back and slammed the barn door closed. As the bundle slipped from Leeanne’s grasp, it unrolled, a familiar grin mocked us from the barn floor. It was the bear.

“Shoot him, now!” Leeanne screamed.

There was a loud snap and the fighting ring was thrown into darkness. The only light came from the green glow of the alligator tank, in the side room.

Sort:  

may I resteem your post

Yes, absolutely! That's why it's here! Thanks.

Nice, I've upvote please upvote and follback

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56