"8 Minutes to Sunday" Episode 17, The Mystery of Dalton West Book 2

in #novel6 years ago

Today on 8 Minutes to Sunday, Sally meets Leeanne and Dalton gets suspicious about Sally's bag.

“Who is she?” Leeanne asked.

We were in the kitchen, making breakfast.

“I don’t know. She just showed up. All I know is she was feeding Crows, and I saw a crow bring her money,” I said.

If you haven't read the first Dalton West mystery, find the links here.

New to this story? Follow the bullet links to find the right episode!

8 Minutes to Sunday, Episode One

“Weird,” Leeanne said.

“Right? Then, last night, she was watching me at Earl’s when I stopped in for coffee,” I said.

I always forgot to turn on the vent hood fan when cooking bacon. That’s not usually a big deal. Our carbon monoxide sensor made it one. The slightest whiff of smoke made it scream so loud you couldn’t think. Our guest wasn’t asleep anymore.

Leeanne took her to the bathroom and got her towel. Sally showered while I finished breakfast.

“Don’t you think it’s weird, her name being Earl, when you met her at Earl’s? And doesn’t Sally Lowell work nights there?” Leeanne said.

“Huh, you’re right,” I said. “I was so focused on getting her a place to stay, I didn’t notice.”

“You’re a horrible liar, Dalton West,” she said.

She slapped my butt with a spatula and kissed me. On the cheek. It was progress.
I wanted to make sure I was on the up and up and not married as much as she did. But, with each passing hour, I was more convinced than ever that I wasn’t. Except for Sally. But if she was my long-lost wife, she was a hell of an actor. She hadn’t said a word, and she certainly did not seem to know me.

But, I did know her from somewhere. My brain chased itself in circles while I sipped coffee and crunched bacon. Losing your memory is a pain in the butt.
Sally sat and accepted a plate of bacon and hot cakes. She was hungry. Leeanne took over the questioning.

“So, Sally, how long have you been in town?” Leeanne asked.

“Two days. I’m waiting for a bus, then I’m on my way,” Sally said.

“Where are you from?” Leeanne asked.

“Around,” Sally said.

“Why don’t you want to tell me?” Leeanne asked.

“It’s not that, you just probably haven’t heard of it,” Sally said.

“It’s okay, Sally, you don’t have to tell us,” I said.

“Excuse me?” Leeanne said. “If she’s sleeping in the same house with my child, she can damn well tell me where she’s from.”

“What is your problem?” I said. “You think she’s somehow a threat?”
Sally started crying.

“Now look what you did, Dalton,” Leeanne said. “Seriously, the poor woman has obviously been through a lot.”

I got up and started clearing the table.

Sally wiped her eyes with a napkin. “I’m so sorry for causing trouble. You were so kind to me last night, I’m just embarrassed, I,” Sally said. “I haven’t told anyone since I got out.”

Leeanne gave me a look that said, “See, I told you she was dangerous.”

“You were in jail?” Leeanne asked.

Sally started crying again. “Worse, I was with your sister,” she said. “At The Farm.”

“Oh. Shit,” Leeanne said. “I’m sorry, I had no idea. I was there too.”

“I know, Sarah told me,” she said. “I was hoping to see her. That’s part of why I came through River Grove.”

“Well, she’s in California for a few months,” Leeanne said. “Blowing off steam and spending some of that settlement money.”

“I didn’t get mine yet,” Sally said. “My, uh, lawyer gave me an advance on it, though. That’s where I’m going. I have an interview with the FBI next week. In Oklahoma City.”

She was a horrible liar. Leeanne seemed to be buying it, though. The mention of The Farm had short circuited her suspicion. I didn’t think she was any danger to us, but I would have bet anything she’d never been to The Farm.

I needed to get to the bank and ask a few questions. I’d seen her go in yesterday and she’d tried to pay last night at the motel. She had cash from somewhere.

Surely the crows weren’t bringing her that much.

“Well, if you need work while you’re here,” Leeanne said. “I could use help with some painting. We’re working on a house renovation.”

“Sure, if you don’t mind,” Sally said. “I know you were planning on me going downtown with you, Dalton. But, I really could use some extra money.”

“Fine with me,” I said. “You two have fun.”

I took Leeanne aside.

“Listen, watch out for Ty. Not sure who the other guy was last night, but it’s possible she’s in trouble,” I said.

“Well if they bring trouble, I think two Farm survivors can handle it,” Leeanne said.

I told her to take her pistol, just in case.

CHECK OUT MY LATEST PROJECT!

Sort:  

Amazing story in this Novel book, I'am a novelis to.
Warm regards from Ghost Sniper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53