You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini writing workshop: Can you get paid to write?

in #fiction5 years ago

Keep at it, and eventually the money will come.

I am finding this to be true about anything. But the fear of rejection will make us stop and lose momentum too often. Don't lose the momentum you're building, especially if you see any returns. They will grow with time if you keep pushing.

I try making money with photography and I'm marrying a fine artist so... the question is do I endure to see momentum built or do I begin earning money by writing...code, instead.

Sort:  

Yes, that is very true, @manoldonchev — all artists struggle with these questions. Can I make money? Enough to make a living? Should I give it everything I’ve got, or pursue my passion alongside a “real” job? Every artist must answer these questions for him or herself.

Sometimes I think the primary difference between those who succeed wildly and those who don’t is the decision to give it everything. But at the end of the day, we also have to question what kind of success we are looking for, how long and hard we are willing to fight for what we want, and if it’s worth living on mac and cheese to get there.

I am happy to say that I have found balance. I’ve carved time out of a very busy life to pursue my craft. I chose not to be a starving, tormented artist to pursue my dream, but I do believe I can achieve a level of success that will make it all worthwhile.

I wish you luck in your own soul searching!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54