SEND HIM VICTORIOUS - A Royal Thriller - Chapter 1, part 5

in #fiction7 years ago

What if England had a badass King who took back the power his ancestors used to have?


By way of introduction, this is my latest book which I am serializing for you here on Steemit. You can buy this book on Amazon (clickable here) or any other online bookshop, both electronically and in print, or you can read it free right here.

I am also thinking of recording an audiobook of this title. Please let me know if you would like that.

I look forward to interacting with you. If you have any questions about the story, locations, characters, events, or background, please ask (though I will only answer them if it doesn’t require revealing spoilers!).

This book is the product of years of preparation, research, and writing. I hope you enjoy it!

Read on:

buck house.jpg


CHAPTER ONE - Risk (part 5 of 5)

One lord clapped. Then another, and another, until perhaps twenty. Many of the foreigners demonstrated their approval as well.

The greater number voiced their displeasure, though none too loudly, as the armed soldiers looked on.

Many also remained silent.

“I shall retire now. There is much to be done.”

The General and his men saluted as King stood. Alfred returned the gesture. A number of soldiers emerged from behind the throne, forming the King’s bodyguard. He moved back to the door from which he had entered the Chamber.

The pageboys mobilised to carry the King’s train.

Those lords who had clapped for the King now bowed to him as he left. The neutral lords shortly did the same, followed by the dissenters, as the soldiers stood to attention.


“I can’t believe it,” Jimmy said. “Everything’s changed, just like that.” He clicked his fingers.

“I can’t believe it neither,” Jimmy’s Mum said. “It gives me a really bad feelin’ in the pit o’ me stomach.”

“Oh Mum, don’t be like that. It’s brilliant! This man – well, he’s more than a man. He’s made o’ titanium. The Americans, the Arabs, the Chinese, they won’t push us ’round no more. Everything’s gonna be diff’rent now, wait and see.” Jimmy looked at his watch. “I’d better get back to barracks anyway.”

“But you got plenty o’ time!”

“Somethin’ tells me I should get back as soon as I can. Sergeant-Major’s gonna wanna discuss this with us, which means a lotta shoutin’.”

Jimmy disappeared upstairs, returning with his Bergen rucksack. He hugged his mother. “Love ya’, Mum.”

Jimmy’s Mum said nothing, clinging to him.

“Now come on Mum, I’ve gotta get goin’.”

She did not release him. “I’m just so scared for ya’, Jimmy.”

“You’re always scared for me, Mum. Be happy for me instead. I’ve got a purpose now.”

She loosened her grip a little, then a little more, until she was standing in front of him with only her feet for support. She offered a halting, quivering smile. “You look after y’self just as well as you look after ’is Majesty.”

“Thanks Mum. Bye.”

Jimmy waved, leaving the room.

Brushing past the coats hanging from hooks in the cramped entrance hall, and avoiding a basket full of shoes and trainers, Jimmy opened the door and was gone.

Jimmy’s Mum shut the door behind him and leaned against it. “God,” she said, inclining her head upward, “Lord, please be with our Jimmy. Look after ’im.” Tears ran down her cheeks.


Knocking first as a courtesy, the General entered the Robing Room, decorated with ornate wood-panelled walls and ceiling, dotted with small chandeliers casting ample light. Numerous functionaries hovered around King Alfred.

The robe and the crown had been taken away. The King, still uniformed, slouched in his Chair of State.

He sat up when the General entered.

“So Stewart, is there peace in the House of Lords once more?”

“Yes, Your Majesty,” the General said. “Everything’s in order.”

“Very good.”

“May I add, Your Majesty, that your performance today was masterly. It was everything we’d hoped it would be, everything we planned.”

The King inhaled, closed his eyes, held his breath.

The General raised an eyebrow.

“I hope that was more than just a performance,” Alfred said. “If this doesn’t work…”

“Er… excuse us, everyone.” The General looked at the others and motioned toward the door. “Leave His Majesty and I alone, please.” They all looked to the King.

Nodding, the King motioned them away with a wave.

Montgomery stood at the door, waiting until everyone had exited, and shut it behind them. He moved to stand next to the seated King. The General knelt, leaning close and speaking quietly. “Your Majesty, don’t lose your nerve. Your resolve needs to be strong, especially in front of those who serve you. Do not relinquish your authority.”

“Or what?” The King looked Montgomery in the eye.

“Don’t mistake me, Your Majesty. I’m not attempting to threaten you in any way. Like you, I believe in what we are doing. And, like you, all my eggs are in one basket now. I will serve you and support you unflinchingly. I will defend you against all comers. And that’s what I’m doing right now. If you have doubts, discuss them privately, with me, or someone else you can trust. Never air them.”

“Very well then. I do have doubts. How can I not? This is easily the most significant, and most difficult, thing I’ve ever done.”

“It’s also the best thing. The Queen certainly thought so. She would have wanted to be by your side during all of this, as you well know.”

“There is no need to lecture me on what my wife would have wanted, Stewart.” Alfred stood and stepped forward. “My resolve is undiminished.”

Sort:  

Welcome @lordrocco, hope you're looking forward to earning plenty of money! Type minnowsupport in the search to get off to an excellent start. Follow me if you are interested in free banners you can use on your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59928.39
ETH 2649.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42