Science Fiction: Sometimes There Is Only A Little.

in #fiction7 years ago

Another beautiful evening on the porch, watching the nukes go off.

This is for my sci-fi loving followers.
The most interaction that I get when I post is
when I ask a question about sci-fi.
Save your votes, if you want. What I'm looking for, here, is
interaction, a back and forth.
I've been very lucky so far.
Here's what I want to know.

Who is your most loved, one hit wonder of an author?
and what did they write that so impressed you?

It's okay if they wrote more than one book, but
if you think that they only had one GOOD book in them when they started,
then I want to know who it is and what's the name of the book.

This may even be a difficult pronouncement to lay at someone's door,
but if you think they had only one, no matter how good that one was.
It's okay if it's their first book,
or if it took the author one or more to warm up.

Any other sci-fi questions or comments are welcome,
but please address the question.

I am going to have to choose, David R. Palmer,
and the book, "Emergence"
I really enjoyed this book.
It was the only one that I enjoyed.
He's still alive, I hope He doesn't read this.


There were moments when reading it,
that I thought he was channeling Heinlein.
A genetic mutation that makes humans faster, stronger, supergeniuses,
is the only thing that preserves the human species, after a nuclear apocalypse.
I don't want to spoil too much, but it has an attack macaw,
and if you don't like it, there's really only, the one book.
He did write some more, but it wasn't Emergence.

Danger, the writing style is weird because much of it is translated from shorthand.
Some people are really turned off by this. I very much enjoyed it.
It vaguely reminds me of some of the truncated,
future jargons that you occasionally run into with sci-fi.

Careful, I bite.

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

images: c1.staticflickr.com/9/8503/8292545493_a746f6e66b_b.jpg and
sciencebookaday.files.wordpress.com/2016/11/emergence.jpg and
cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2012/03/01/01/38/macaw-20282_1280.jpg

Sort:  

I read it too when it first came out. I read the sequel also.
I also read the other series by the same author.
I've talked to the author online and asked hime when there would be another.
He said that he'd received too much flak from the publishing houses because his good guys were conservative and had real values.
Not allowed.

what did you think of his books?

it's too bad that he didn't get to develop more as a writer.
i've seen other writers get the cold shoulder because of their politics. it sucks.
i really did enjoy Emergence. the others weren't bad. they just weren't great.

I liked his books.
Sometimes a GREAT book isn't what I want.
Sometimes I just want a comfort read.(space opera)
He did that.

Speaking of poly ticks and Social Justice Bullies
I've been following the Hugo Awards for the last few years.
and the Sad Puppies.
At one time it signaled what to buy.
Now it is a warning sign.
Danger...crap inside

there is an author i've been meaning to read BECAUSE he was run out of the science fiction and fantasy writers of America, because of his politics. Vox Day is his name. i learned about him recently.

yup..the RABID puppy.

I'm sure that Greg Bear would be mortified to be listed thusly, but his book "Blood Music" really blew me away. Not only was the premise of intelligent bacteria cool, but the pacing was beautiful, and he kept expanding the 'what if' logical conclusions soooo far that it became this epic story by the time he was done. Definitely in my top 10 list. I read a few other of Bear's novels after that first one I read, but found them very lacking in comparison.

Blood music has got to be his best. I did really like Queen of Angels, but you're right it just wasn't as good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86