The first shrine visit

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

I took a few unsure steps around the corner and there she was!

Clad in a beautiful kimono, the dark black hair in an unusual high hair-do, braving the cold morning wind. She was breathing into her hands and when she looked up her radiant smile made me forget the coldness of this first day of the year.
The sun was barely up and lighting her face on one side made my think again how cute she was. We greeted each other, exchanging the best wishes for the new year and then looking at each other, slightly blushing.
I had seen her only yesterday, but it really felt like last year.

With a gentle “Let’s go!” she pitched her head towards the shrine. We walked slowly besides each other, not close, not far, savoring the presence of each other, still unsure in that newness.

Though it was still early in the morning, a lot of people were going the same way as we. The tradition was strong and so nearly everyone was going to greet the gods on this first day of the year.
I looked at the red bars of the torii as we were going through the arc that stated that this was now the realm of the gods. It seemed to me as a gate into a new life. As my feet were taking one stony step of the wide stair after the other, I felt better the higher we walked.

source

It was only a small shrine so there were only a few vendors, catering for the comparatively small crowd of visitors.
Our first steps led us to a stall where the shrine’s mikos were selling talismans and fortunes.
We took the fortune and were happy, we both had good luck on it. She also bought a talisman but I didn’t looked for what. It seemed like she would not want me to know it.

The sun was blinking through the leafs of the trees as we walked to the center of the shrine. I was too aware of her closeness as we stood there in the row, waiting for our turn to send our words to the gods. We both felt a bit awkward and didn’t talk a word with each other.
On the other hand that personal stillness in the talking crowd made the moment even more enticing. It nearly felt as we were all alone here.

Reaching the end of the row we let our money fall into the big wooden box. We bowed twice in tandem, clapped our hands to get the attention of the shrine’s deity and offered our prayers.

But first I thanked the gods for letting me literally run into this girl on the day before Christmas eve. She was slightly crying at that time and I was not far away. We first run into and then clung to each other, telling the stranger our story and finding relieve.

And then, when we cleared our eyes from our tears, we looked into the now clear eyes of each other and found a new, bright future.

While praying I looked sideways, trying to get a glimpse of her figure. To my surprise she did the same and as our eyes met she blushed. I was sure I was red, too.
Please, gods, let me be together with that girl! Looking at her was like I was inhaling life itself!

Again we bowed and then turned round. Together we were going into the new year, two girls, side by side.


source


I am new to writing fiction in English, so I am thankful for every tip or error you find for me.

Also greetings @boxcarblue who’s post on hatsumode inspired me to write a scene that can be considered a must-have in any romance manga, with the slightly non-mainstream twist at the end ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35