"Rescue Me." - "No, Me." -- A GOBBLER BROTHERS Tale

in #fiction6 years ago

Rescue-Me.jpg

"Peck."


"Peck-Peck."
"Hey, Brother?"
"What?"
"You hear something?"
"Yeah."
"What is it?"
"It's me. Peck-Peck-Peck."
"What are you doing?"
"Doing? I'm breaking out of this shell, that's what I'm doing."
"Oh."

"Peck-Peck. Peck-Peck-Peck."


"Why?"
"Why what?"
"Why are you breaking out?"
"I don't know. I just am."
"So you're leaving me?"
"Sorry. Peck. Hey wait, I know."
"What?"
"You break out, too."
"Good plan."

"Peck." "Peck."


"Peck-Peck." "Peck-Peck."
"Peck-Peck-Peck." "Peck-Peck-Peck."
"Oh, man, it's cold out here."
"You're out?"
"Yeah. Hey, wait, there's Mom."
"Mom?"
"Yeah. Hi, Mom, I'm out."
"Wait. Peck... I'm out. Brother, are you ugly."
"Speak for yourself."
"Oh, I see her. Mom, look at me. I'm out, too."

"Brother?"


"Now what?"
"Mom doesn't have wings."
"That's right. So what?"
"We do."
"Correct. But we don't need them."
"Oh. She must be a superior model, then."
"Yeah."
"Mom, feed me."
"No, feed me, Mom."

"Honey, I'm home."


"Oh, darling, come see."
"Yes? Ah, the turkeys hatched. Oh-oh."
"What?"
"They've imprinted on you."
"What does that mean?"
"Now they'll think that you're they're mother."
"Sweet."

Stay tuned for another GOBBLER BROTHERS Adventure.

“It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.”
~ C.S. Lewis

Story © by KT Fabler - more at:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98