The Last Descendant - Chapter 4 (a STEEMIT unfinished novel)

in #fiction8 years ago

Chapter 4 (enjoy! -)

I sprinted down the mountain as fast as I could. Each step I took, the faster I went. I felt my own breathing on my neck. I was charging down the mountain head first with my fists ready to activate my spell and unleash my anger on Queen Jane.
Just as I reached the bottom of the mountain, I tripped on a jagged rock embedded into the mountain and tumbled down the mountain until I came to a stop, which took a long time. At the very end of the mountain, I slowed down and eventually come to a stop; however, I flew over the ground for a couple of seconds and landed on the ground face-first. Surprisingly, I ended up with cuts and bruises.
“Ugh.”
I pushed myself up from the ground with my hands. I turned around and sat on the ground. My hands were in the back of me and my legs were fully stretched in front of me. In the distance, Jasmine and Leafa were making their way towards me.
A few seconds later, they had caught up with me Jasmine and Leafa had a concerned look on their faces. They put their hands on their knees and observed me carefully. They examined each injury across my face and limbs thoroughly.
“Does this hurt?” Leafa picked up my leg and moved it to the right, left, down, and up.
At the slight movement of my left leg, I flinched and pain in my left leg started to throb.
Leafa immediately put my leg down and started to recite a spell from memory.
Just after she finished her spell, the air around me got warmer. A green light appeared on my left leg. I felt a warm sensation in my leg as the spell was healing the broken bones together slowly.
“Thanks.”
“Don’t mention it.” Leafa replied.
“Get up.”
I gave them my hand and they grabbed it and pushed myself up to
stand.
On leaned on Jasmine and Leafa and let go. The throbbing pain in my left leg no longer existed.
I was amazed what Leafa’s healing ability can do to people.
“How can you do that?”
Instead of answering my question, Leafa said, “Let’s go, we’ve got no time to waste here.”
We ran towards to spot where Queen Jane once stood, however, what was left of there, was an orb floating mindlessly in the middle of the road. I hiked down the path and picked the orb up. The orb had a light red color and its weight was lighter than a feather.
I had no idea why an orb was floating here. Perhaps it marked where Queen Jane left, or maybe it had no purpose at all. A hand reached over and grabbed the orb from me.
Leafa studied the orb cautiously as if the orb was a bomb. Leafa said nothing as she set the orb down.
Leafa turned to us and said, “We must head towards Bellzàhn, there, I have a friend who can decode this.””
I picked out the orb and said, “What is this, a message?”
“Yes, this orb is just not any message orb, it is a Locked Orb, meaning that only Decoders can open the hidden lock and receive the message.”
“So you are saying that this friend of yours is a Decoder?”
“Indeed, one of the best in the world.”
“Bellzàhn is west of us, let’s go before it reaches dark.”
“I noticed that you say dark like it is an evil word.”
Leafa once again ignored me and started to work west. Jasmine looked at me and nudged toward the direction of Bellzàhn.
I began walking and I sped up the pace to catch up with them. Our short walk lasted for minutes. Throughout the walk, all us of were silent. Which is odd since Leafa usually starts every conversation we have. I worried about Leafa. I looked at Leafa and only saw the particular her, the Leafa that had eyes of determination, and the hands of steel that would make any enemy tremble before her. On the other hand, Jasmine has the exact personality of Leafa, quiet, and much weaker in physical strength.
Due to all the worrying, I was distracted and I didn’t even notice that we had reached Bellzàhn until Jasmine shook my shoulder.

“Where is this friend of yours located?”
“She could be anywhere, but she usually is at the local arena, relaying messages from other people.”
“Let me guess, that is her job.”
“No, she volunteers to do it. She is from a rich and very respected aristocracy known as…” she paused. She then smiled and ran towards the local arena. I chased her.
“Come on Jasmine!” I shouted at her.
The night was almost falling in the city and we were still running. Wherever Leafa wanted to go, it was a long way there. Along the way, I slowed down my pace and made a complete stop. I walked over to the stone guardrails and laid my hands there. The view from here was amazing, even though we were very high up, higher than most of the buildings, there was no interference. The night was cloudless and that made the view much more beautiful.
From the beginning of the gates to the Bellzàhn’s center, all of the houses, stores, and restaurants were lit up. From my view, it looked like specks of yellow that illuminated the land. I took in what the city had to offer and while I was sightseeing, I realized that I had to catch up with Leafa.
“We’re here.”
I turned to the sound of the voice, but no one was there. I stood there scratching my head. I started to think that I imagined someone saying that.
I had no idea where Leafa and Jasmine went. I inferred that Jasmine ran on ahead while I took a break. She probably was more athletic than me anyways. The only way forward were stairs near the end of the guardrails. The wall that covered the end of the guardrail to the beginning the stairs was the back of a building. The stairs are facing the guardrails and not me, which blends in with its surroundings.
I dashed to the stairs and ran up it. There were a lot of stairs involved that I had to run through.
Halfway there, I slowed down my speed to the point of walking. Ahead of me, there was a person who had a black robe standing there. The robe covered him from head to toe. It also covered his eyes. The only thing visible about him is his mouth and his mustache. I walked up

the stairs cautiously, leaning to the right side of the rails. I feared that he would attack me.
By the time I had reached the platform he was standing on, he still hadn’t attempted to attack me. I eyed him warily as I walked past him.
Before I left my attention off him, he spoke. His voice was deep, but it sounded like his throat was dry. He spoke hoarsely.
“She is coming to get you.”
“Who is she?”
The man vanished into thin air and was nowhere to be seen again. I turned to expected him to be behind me, but there was no trace of him anywhere.
I just stood there looking confused like someone just gave me a hard math question that I don’t know.
“No matter, I’ll just pretend that nothing happened today.” I said to myself.
As I prepared myself to walk the next flight of stairs, there weren’t any stairs left to climb, the only structure left to cross is a diagonal stone bridge connecting from the top of the stairs, the place where I already am, to a very large castle. Yet, when I do a comparison in my head with my palace, my palace makes the castle an apartment building. I recalled Leafa telling me when I broke my arm when I attempted to ride a horse that my palace is the largest palace to date, just to honor my parents.
“This palace is the tallest in the planet of Spiráght in at 2,800 feet tall and 1,200 feet wide.” Leafa had told me.
I scurried to the castle which when compared to my palace was minuscule. For each footstep I took, the sounds of my footsteps were bouncing back towards me like how your voice reflects in the room.
At last, I reached the castle’s door. I raised the knocker and slammed it hard against the wooden door.
BOOM!
There was complete silence throughout the entire city for a moment. I door shifted from its position and a servant appeared.
“Hello, and what can I do for you?” the servant said. She looked like as if I woke her up from her sleep. Her tone was of boredom.
I stood straight and said, “I am here to regroup with my companions.”
“Who might you be?”
I stood there amazed and thought to myself, “Wow, there are still
people who still don’t know me.”
“I am Valette Lydos, daughter of Kyos and Ganndia. I am here to regroup with Leafa and Jasmine. I assumed they entered here earlier?”
The servant’s eyes widened with shock, “Oh, I am so sorry for my manners, Miss Lydos, please forgive me. Your friends did come in earlier today, just about ten minutes earlier than you did.”
I ignored her plea and went straight in the castle. Inside, the entire castle was coated with a bright yellow paint; the chandelier was shining with bright yellow torchlights. The whole castle seemed to yellow. The path made a turn after a few feet into the castle and a staircase leading up. I followed the stairs and found a very large room. On one of the corners, there was a dark blue couch the extended from that corner to the other two corners.
Further in, there was a door, a plain wooden door. Next to it, led to the dinner room, or that’s what I call it. The dinner room was empty; there were two entryways to the room. In the kitchen, there were noise, a lot of noise. I exited the dinner room and was brought to a kitchen room that was on the left of the dinner room.
Servants were rushing around into the crowded kitchen. About a total of twenty chef servants were there, most were males, but some were females.
They seemed like they were in a panic. One of the chef’s pans was on fire and the entire pan was on fire. Oddly, there wasn’t any water near him. The fire spread to the countertop, which was wooden. The stove was granite and had a shiny green color to it. The other 19 servants who were only feet away got a bucket of crystal clear water. They all looked uncertain wondering if they should throw the water, as if the water had special properties.
The fire now spread to the chef’s white apron. The servants threw the crystal clear water over the fire. The chef slipped on the water. For a moment, the entire kitchen was silent. Then all of the servants sighed in relief.
A few of them grabbed towels to wipe the floor and the countertops. Another group of people carried on and started to cook what looked like meat. The rest of them exited the kitchen through the door when they noticed me.
“Oh, I am so sorry that you had to see this, how may we help you?’

“Oh, it’s nothing, I was wondering if you had seen my friends that came here ten minutes earlier than I did.”
“You mean Leafa and another girl?”
“Yes.”
“Come follow me.”
She walked briskly past me, the dinner room and finally into the living room. She headed to the door that was closed. She knocked on the door. KNOCK! KNOCK!
There was a muffled sound that came from inside the room, “Come in.”
She opened the door slightly, and I grabbed the handle and opened to its full extent.
Inside the room was Leafa, Jasmine, and another person, which I presumed was the friend that Leafa mentioned earlier. The girl had her eyes closed with the orb that we found on the empty road.
“Hey, why didn’t you wa-“
“Shhh.” Leafa interrupted me.
A purple light filled the entire room. Shadows appeared on the walls. The shadows showed a shadow chest opened with a shadow key. The chest released words that I didn’t recognize, and once there were no more words, the chest closed immediately.
The ominous purple light was sucked back into the chest, and at once, the room was back to what it was, yellow. I would have preferred the purple to the yellow walls.
“Did you unlock the message?” Leafa impatiently asked.
The girl opened her eyes and said, “Yes. However, I cannot recognize the language that she spoke. I can only understand I small portion of it, and that small portion has no meaning to it.”
“Let us hear it Mianne.”
“She said, ‘Yes, I have found it, the one I was looking for all along, and it come to wreck havoc upon the world. Meet me at my palace.’.”
“No meaning? I think that this is important.” Jasmine said.
Mianne shrugged, “Like I said, it’s not my job to protect the world. My job is to help travelers and heroes alike to unlock messages found or left behind, so I have no idea what is important and what’s not in a quest brought upon yourself. Unless Arcane Lowski gave the quest, I wouldn’t understand the importance of whatever you want to do.”

“Anyways, thank you for helping us Mianne.”
“Oh, no problem. Be sure to drop by every now and then and we can enjoy ourselves with a bottle of champagne.” Mianne said.
“I’ll be sure to do that after I’ve exterminated our enemy.”
Leafa flashed a weak smile at Mianne and left her room, and Jasmine followed after her. I stayed behind.
“What are you doing? You should be going now.”
“There is something I have to talk with you. There was an incident in the kitchen near the dinner room.”
“What is it?”
“The kitchen was in fire and the servants put it out with a bucket with-“
“The crystal clear water?” Mianne asked.
“Yes.”
Mianne rose from her seat and sprinted to the kitchen. I didn’t go after her, but instead, I stayed where I was.
I sat down on her chair and examined items on her desk. Her desk was sloppy; it was filled with paper and mountains of papers. Taking one of the papers from one of the piles, it had some odd things inscribed on it. I glanced at the other papers, and it all had some odd writings on it.
One of the papers read, “He’s here. It’s here. They’re all here. I got to warn them.” Another one read, “She never knew it. She had one.”
I air suddenly turned cold, especially near my shoulders. I turned my head to look over my shoulder, but there was nothing.
“I must be overthinking what this stupid message could even mean.”
I shook my head and put back down the paper.
“I’m here.”
I turned around and again, didn’t see anyone, and I kept shaking my head to make sure I wasn’t going to start hallucinating.
I looked to my right and saw her bed, nothing else besides it. What I expected on her bed, was a pillow and a blanket, but there were items and artifacts of unusual things that people would collect.
From the kitchen, I heard Mianne complaining about the water and yelling at the servants to no do that again.
“What kind of water is that to make her irritated?” I thought to myself.
Continuing my investigation, there was a chunk of rock sitting on the top left corner of the bed. I grabbed to reach it, but it was out of reach.

I got out of the seat and plopped myself on the bed. I crawled up to the point where the rock rested. I took hold of the rock at cautiously looked at, as if the rock had mystical and mysterious powers. On the rock, it had a u-like letter on the front. On the back, it was plain rock without anything interesting about it.
In the distance, I heard footsteps. The door opened. I quickly shoved the rock in the hood of the robe. I swiftly got off the bed and stood up from where I was.
“Why are you still here, you should be with Leafa and your other friends rescuing your friend. Am I right?”
“Yes. I just wanted to ask what is that crystal water of yours?”
“It’s none of your business Valette, now go, before you call my guards to throw you out of here.”
I hand my hands up to surrender and casually walked out of the room and outside the castle.
Outside, Leafa and Jasmine were waiting for me. The guards closed the castle’s doors. Jasmine was silently sitting on the stone guardrails, kicking her feet back and forth in the air. On the other hand, Leafa was eyeing me, like I was guilty of something.
“What took you so long to get out?”
“I was using the bathroom.” I lied to Leafa.
I walked in front of her and continued on a brisk pace. I turned around, walking backward and said, “Come on.”
Jasmine hopped off the guardrails and skipped ahead of me.
Leafa crossed her arms and looked at crossly.
“Lies, you didn’t go the bathroom.”
I stopped in my tracks, with my back facing her.
Leafa came, closing in on me until she was directly behind me. Jasmine stopped skipping and turned around looking at me. Her eyes were full of concern.
In a happy tone, Leafa whispered, “I was just kidding around with you, I was testing how you would react to me if I was serious. Now, let’s go.”
Jasmine turned back around and started skipping. Leafa left my side and ran to catch up with Jasmine.
“I suppose it’s time to get rid of Queen Jane.”
I sprinted as fast as I could to catch up with Leafa and Jasmine, and
I thought to myself, “Maybe after Queen Jane is gone, the world is at peace for once and for all.”
Eventually, I caught up with them in a forest right outside the city walls of Koroe.
I sat on the stump on a fallen tree, waiting for Leafa to think of the plans; after all, she was the smartest out of all of us.
“Alright,” Leafa said seriously, “I think it will be wise to let Valette out of this, what do you think?”
I stood up and rejected her proposal, “No.”
“I say that we just run in and plan it in there.”
“You must be out of your mind again, Valette,” Leafa laughed out loud, “planning while in battle? That was the most absurd idea I had ever heard throughout my entire life.”
My cheeks colored, “Well, why must I be out of this battle?” I challenged her.
“To protect you. You are new to this world, or dimension, whatever you want to call it.”
“I will accompany you.”
“Very well. Jasmine and I will do something about this meeting of theirs, and get Azarius out of here.”
I rose from the stump and brushed the dirt from my robe as gently as possible.
The sun was in the horizon, wanting to rise up into the sky to illuminate the sky.
Jasmine took out her rapier from her sheath. The rapier point was sharpened and fresh, like Jasmine hesitated to ever use it in combat. Jasmine started to do practice drills for a few moments to regain the familiar feeling with it again. She lunged and made a quick jab into the air, repeating the same movements, except in different directions
Leafa didn’t bring anything, as I didn’t either. However, Leafa didn’t bring anything, for she was already powerful enough to make do in any situations. I was the weak link in our group, I needed to step up my game but I had no clue as to how.
“Let’s go.”

Sort:  

A suggestion improvement: Remember to put links for prior chapters so that the viewer can navigate directly with a click.

Thanks for the idea, I will do that today! :)

Thanks, you read the entire chapter?

yes, only some parts remain unclear , @krystox

Such as what? I'll try to clarify it in the next chapter or here.

I translate through an interpreter , and he takes some bad turns. If you can then write more easier , @krystox

excellent ! Let's
only do not delay

I am gamer, in all games, i heal the persons
This passage reminded me that

I was amazed what Leafa’s healing ability can do to people.

“How can you do that?”

Maybe for the play all time supports, i help people of the real life,

I study psychology, I try heal the mind

I like very much the way you have to write , thank you for share with us,

enjoyable - thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60758.73
ETH 2661.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44