Sharing The Research Process For My Novel With Steemit!

in #fiction7 years ago

As I move further into creating the world of Keltorin, I have realised with a story as complex and multifaceted as mine I need to ensure that what I am writing makes sense.

I don't mean storyline when I say this, I am referring to fundamentals of both ancient and medieval societies.

Things like how did they live? What tools did they use? How did they interact with other societies? What jobs did people have?
And what were their lives like? Not only royalty but commoners as well.

These are all questions I have that can and will affect the story and the people in it, I want this world to be realistic - yes it is fiction and fantasy, but to the characters the world must be realistic and balanced.

So in order to stay true to my intentions and vision for this story and indeed the world, I have realised I need to study different aspects of life from different cultures and time periods.

I realise this will put further delays on me writing my story on here, but there is no point in rushing out the story and having it be less than what I know it can be.

I have decided that whilst I can't post my story yet, I am spending hours watching many documentaries about different cultures and civilisations throughout history - I should post about the research I am doing.

This way I have interesting content to post, whilst learning what I need to write my story - all without having huge delays in my posts because I'm not ready to post about my story.

Civilisations:

Civilisations are a major aspect of any inhabited world, they are complex and require a lot of detail and history to seem authentic.

Without giving too much of the story away, I have multiple societies some are ancient and have dwelled on Keltorin for thousands of years.

Others however are in a state of infancy and haven't yet acquired the knowledge of the ancient races, this is a crucial aspect of my story - How would civilisations such as these coexist on Keltorin?

To help me understand what life was like back then I have been and will continue to study and research many different cultures from different time periods.

Civilisations like the Minoans and Egyptians or the Aztecs and Mayans, as well as more modern civilisations from Medieval times.

Once I have all that I believe I need to know, I will write a post on that culture and any interesting facts or details I come across.

Warfare:

On top of learning about civilisations I will also need to expand my knowledge on other areas of focus, such as warfare - the terminology, weapons and methodology/strategy.

The story on Keltorin will have many different conflicts and battles from small raids and skirmishes, to full fledged wars with massive numbers and drastic repercussions.

I don't want the reader to have to follow the story with me fumbling over the terminology, using the wrong phrasing even if close to what was intended can change the overall meaning.

I think this will also help me develop my ability to accurately describe what it is I am envisioning, from how fighters move in hand to hand combat to how commanders coordinate large forces for strategic benefits.

How would these events truly play out on the terrain, what strategies would be best implemented where and how different weapons and fighting styles would interact.

I have a basic knowledge on these topics so far, I studied Aikido for years and also to a lesser extent Karate - but as my brother was very active in these areas, I was always aware of these styles.

This will definitely be an influence butt as there are many different styles of hand to hand combat I am interested to learn of new and different styles and techniques.

Again once I have gathered the knowledge I require, I will post about what I have learned and found interesting.

General Knowledge:

Ontop of specific focusses I need to ensure I don't stuff up basic details, any obvious mistakes can distract the reader and cause a moment or event to loose its intrigue or suspense.

With these details I will be focussing on the little things, like the names of a blacksmith's tools and basic methodology used by them.

Then there is details like the different parts of a horse's saddle and bridle their uses and purpose, if someone takes a fall what was it that could have caused this or influenced the outcome - a foot caught in a sturyp for example.

These are the little nitty gritty details that some writes gloss over, or use the same terminology repetitively to describe - I want my readers to have informed variety.


I wanted to let my readers and followers know again, that although I am not posting yet the work on the story is continuing.

I have watched many documentaries over the years and the knowledge I have gained has influenced my opinions and understanding of our ancient world and civilisations.

I find these cultures and their technology fascinating, how did they accomplish their amazing architecture? What was it's true purpose? These are all things that are influencing different aspects of my story.

I will present facts as they are, but I will also give my opinion and beliefs even if they differ from the mainstream narrative.

In these posts I won't be explaining how they may or may not be incorporated into my story, I will make them self contained articles based on the realities of what we know.

I hope that my readers know and understand why this is so important to the quality of the story, and I hope they can enjoy a different type of content from me.

It is all for the purpose of creating a more realistic and interesting world in which my story and it's characters will reside.

Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Keltorin looks like it's shaping up to be a wonderful place. I always enjoy it when writers inject so much passion into crafting their work. The hard work put into creating these worlds really reflects on the page, and the smallest of details could mean a world of difference. Definitely a series worth waiting for!

Thanks for the lovely comment, I agree - I love to immerse myself into the world I'm reading about.

I love it when I'm reading a story to be able to visualise the surrounds, given that I have a whole world I feel as though each place should be distinct and have it's own features - I want to provide my readers with enough for them to be able to see what I see in my mind :D

Hopefully with hard work and dedication I may be able to achieve this some day.

Keltorin

Nice catching name !

Thanks I like it :)

Creating other Worlds will never be easy, but you look like you have a good grasp on it. Don't give up, you're almost there! (Resteemed)

It is far more work than I had imagined or intended it to be, but as I started to flesh out the story I realised just how massive it was going to be and that meant time to expand the scope and focus.

I don't think I could stop now if I wanted to, it has become a major obsession and I already have the plan/outline for several large books - this is going to be a massive undertaking and the end result will be a Saga!

Thank you so much for the resteem I really appreciate it :D

Yeah its a massive project for sure. I'm going to throw a curve-ball here, but have you considered writing a short-story first and then use that learning experience to cut your teeth so to speak and develop it into something larger..Just a thought. Short stories are also great for discovering how successful your imagery is, as the pictures need to be painted with fewer words. Regardless, good luck. I'll be following to see how you are doing.

No worries, yeah I have been thinking about doing more short stories - I used to write them all the time.

I have only really done a couple of shorter pieces on here but this https://steemit.com/descriptiononthespot/@krystle/description-on-the-spot-wanderer is probably the best little piece on here and not too long if you'd like to get an idea of my writing style.

This was one of my first posts on here and part of the description on the spot challenge, after a reread there are a few typos but I liked the idea so much this character is now part of the main story.

Thanks so much for the follow, I hope the story can entertain you along the way :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.18 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65