Sci Fi Novel: Memories of the Artificial Being - Chapter 1: Start of the journey

in #fiction6 years ago


- Hi Mom. Good morning - I said while gently stroking her back to wake her up. She opened her eyes slowly as the light, coming through the window, reflected in the brown of her gaze. It looked beautiful. He smiled and wrapped me in the soft white sheets of his bed. I laughed and whispered:
- In thirty minutes the first class of the institute begins. Will you make me breakfast? - Knowing how important it was for her to prepare everything in the mornings for me, especially today. She stood up suddenly, all disheveled.
- What time is it!? - He exclaimed, while looking at me with his big eyes.
- 8:30 am mom -
He jumped up and ran to the kitchen. I went after her.
- Command: Integral sandwich with butter, cheese, ham, lettuce, tomato, mustard, ketchup. Start - he said kindly to the virtual assistant of our house.
- Process started. I remind you, Laura, that you can use the Frequent commands. - answered the assistant, whom we used to call Sato.
I laughed To which she replied - I know Sato, but I like to go through the list, that helps me train the brain. Command: Mocaccino, little sugar. Start. Command: Orange juice without sugar. Start. -
- Both processes initiated - said Sato.
- Mama would be much simpler if you gave me authority with Sato to be able to give the commands and that you keep sleeping.-
- No, do not even think about it. I know the kind of diet you should take and I must be the one who enrolled you for the institute. I'm your mom. - He answered me, while he picked up his curls on the side of his head.
- Okay, but one of these days, getting up so fast is going to make you bend an ankle. - I said, while looking at me in the mirror, checking, once again, that my gray shirt was perfectly ironed, my perfect blue tie, my white pants impeccable. Polished shoes

Breathe deeply. Today is my first day at the institute for outstanding young people from the eastern capital. It is an institute attended by young people from all over the world with the best coefficients, abilities, aptitudes and attitudes to develop in different areas: such as science, arts, technology, among others. Everything that can be created, studied and analyzed is a subject at the Minds Institute. And I, Axel Trust, had been selected after a long process of applications, interviews, special tests, medical exams, more interviews in groups, individuals, in pairs ... Uff! It has been a long process. I have enjoyed it, but I must also say that it has been quite stressful. The day Sato told me, while giving me my blue pills along with the sugar-free orange juice that I drink every morning, it was truly the most exciting part of my short life so far.

I am 16 years old, but I feel that the last two years have made me age ten.
- Processes finished, good appetite to both. Axel do not forget your pills - said Sato, kindly as always. I already felt Sato part of the family. His voice always reassured me in the mornings, in the recruitment process of Minds, when I arrived from school after the typical fights I went into, even when dad died ... At that time, I think without Sato mom and I we would not have been able to recover. Even though he did not have a palpable physical form, I felt his presence, his affection, his love, his company. I love Sato a lot, it's not any virtual assistant.   

At our silver table with small triangular mirrored trimmings, my mom placed my breakfast and her Mocaccino. He sat at the table, his beautiful smile was drawn when he saw that I sat at the table with my uniform. He read aloud the name embroidered on my shirt, near my heart.
- Axel Trust, trainer. 16. Minds Institute. -
Excited shouted loudly. A tear peeked timidly into his eyes. He took a deep breath and took a sip of his cup. He cleared his throat and said:
- Roy would be very proud. -
I looked at my reflection in the refrigerator mirror. I felt adult, happy, complete. Suddenly I felt like I was going to start crying, so in order not to make a scene, I took my pills, two shots of my orange juice and devoured my sandwich.
- Sato, what time does the next Flax? - I asked for.
- In 1 minute and 10 seconds, Axel, better hurry. - I left what was left of my breakfast and ran out of the kitchen, went to my room. I took my briefcase and my star bracelet, a special amulet that my father had left me. When leaving my room, my mother was with my ID card in her hand, she handed it to me. He gave me a kiss and said: - I love you more than anything. Keep communication. -
- Yes - I smiled. - Goodbye Sato. -
 


 I took my I.D and ran down to the Flax ferries that closed in 15 seconds. When I got on the ferry with a cylindrical shape and transparent walls, I noticed the looks of the other people. The youngsters whispered among themselves, impressed by my uniform. A lady, very old, approached me smiling, and said:
- Congratulations boy. -
I felt powerful, but my words did not come out, after swallowing, I said timidly:
- Thank Mrs. -
A female voice was heard
- Good morning passengers, beginning the process of boarding the Flax. Happy day. -
The ferry, with one blow, went up into the skies. Despite having approached a Flax many times during the recruitment process, I did not get used to not feeling anything when climbing. I looked down and saw the buildings become smaller. I squeezed the golden star on my bracelet. The shuttle stopped on a platform that vibrated a little, it was the bridge to the Flax. The bridge, due to the extreme altitude, was surrounded by walls of a special genetically altered organic plastic that, through a nanotechnological process, allowed the natural biological functions of humans at this altitude. The other passengers and I left the ferry and walked across the bridge. The doors of the Flax opened and I said:
- For you dad, I'll always be the best. - 


The doors closed and my journey began. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70