You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini writing workshop: Is there anything wrong with using italics for emphasis?

in #fiction5 years ago

I like the occasional italic emphasis. :) But I'm a terrible person who also enjoys the occasional naughty adverb. ;)

Would just like to note here:
"I like the occasional italic emphasis." VS "I like the occasional italic emphasis." VS "I like the occasional italic emphasis!" gives different meanings to the same statement. ;)

I see the first one as a snarky person, sullenly admitting that they do like the emphasis in some circumstances. The second one is simply stating that they like the emphasis. And the third one is excited about italic emphasis and would probably use it more often than 'occasionally,' haha!

Sort:  

Ha ha, that’s a great example, @kaelci. I love it. And yes, use of adverbs is another one of those rules that can certainly be broken on occasion, if done mindfully. I think if we end air our readers and write spellbinding tails, we can get away with exercising artistic license!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45