They thought they had found the solution to overpopulation

in #fiction6 years ago

They thought they had found the solution to overpopulation but.....

Many years ago, while I had only lived for 6 years,
Mother Nature had called for a meeting and everyone had go be gathered at the sanchu by midnight.

When a meeting is called for, by midnight, it always meant there was a serious problem on ground.

"What could be the matter?"

image.png
Source

It was only 17 minutes to the grand entry of Mother Nature, and everyone was already seated, awaiting her grand entry while murmuring amongst themselves.

I crawled around from row to row looking for a bullo to play with.

All of a sudden, everywhere became quiet and everyone was on a stand still.

Mother Nature had arrived....

Greetings followed and they started discussing....

I couldn't place my thoughts on what they were discussing but I knew for certain it was about birthing new bullos to the community.

That has been our pride.
The family with the highest number of bullos birthed receives much respect from the rest of the community.

It is believed that they are the strongest.

Mother had just me and Zamie, my brother making us one of the weakest family in the community and we were ridiculed especially by Bontus whose Mother had 13 of them which meant they were the strongest in the community even though I knew I could defeat Bontus in a fight if given the chance.

I had made my decision from the first day Bontus called me a weakling that I was going to have 17 bollus so I could prove to him that I am strong notwithstanding my background.

"Henceforth, every family is only permitted to birth a maximum of 5 bollus".

I heard Mother Nature say and that pierced my thoughts.

"What?"

As expected, everywhere became as busy and noisy as a marketplace.

Who would accept that idea??

Not in a community where the number of bullos a family had determined the height of respect and preferential treatment they received.

Shouts and murmurs came from all sections of the meeting hall but Mother Nature said nothing.

"Enough"....she finally spoke.

"This is my decision and it is final. If we don't act now, this community would become overpopulated in no time"

"This is an attempt to curtail overpopulation and we must all stick to it."

"Manaoz Brenuz".....she said and made to leave.

Everyone echoed same and stood to usher her out.

Soon the murmuring continued while I played away in my thoughts only.....

20 years later and it was time for me to settle and have my own bullos.

The thought of wanting to beat Bontus still crept in but waned away by Mother Nature's new decree which always made me sad.

I got married and Bontus did too, almost within the same time.

My beloved conceived and gave me my first Bollu.

I couldn't be happier.

Subsequent years, she blessed me with more bollus until the fifth and it was time to stop.

It took hours for the last Bollu to come out and when it eventually did, it came out in three's.

I had mixed reactions.

I was happy that I finally fulfilled my dream of beating Bontus since he only had 5 and I had 7 now.

But scared that Mother Nature would have my head for dinner.

I was wrong as Mother Nature sent her blessings which aroused jealousy in Bontus and his brothers.

He wanted to beat my family by all means.

And just when they thought they had found a solution to overpopulation, Bontus and family sprung up and birthed several more Bollus.

Till date, the community remains overpopulated as Mother Nature feels helpless.

Everyone wants power.

And in my community, you get power by birthing more Bollus.....

Sort:  

I really like the mother nature aspect to this story, and the idea of mankind in greed and jealousy ignoring her wishes. The element of pride in reproduction isn't one I can recall coming across before. A unique and insightful take on the theme :)

Thank you much
I'm glad you liked it.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44